A GAGGLE OF GEESE, PRAISE THE LORD WE NEVER HAD SEXTUPLEDS!

I saw this family of Canadian Geese several weeks ago when they very young, of course, I didn't have my camera with me. I've been keeping a watchful eye out for them ever since.

Well, just a few days ago they decided to make their presence known and this time I was prepared, I thought. After taking but one picture the camera was blinking red and telling me the battery was dead.
Since the place where they decided to hatch their young ones was only a mile down the road, I drove home to change the batter, hoping they would still be there upon my return.

Not only were they still there, but the whole crew was now only about 50 yards off of the road.
I was now able to capture this family of Canadian geese as they strutted their stuff.

IMG_9976.JPG

I guess I had arrived a little early, as they looked as though they were just waking up.

IMG_9967.JPG

After hanging around for a while, waiting for the fledglings to get the sleepers out of their eyes, the parents decided it was time for a morning swim.

IMG_0007.JPG

I watched the entire crew make their way across the small pond. As they got closer to the shoreline the young geese would duck their heads under the water in search of some edible vegetation, I guess.

IMG_0011.JPG

Both of the parents were aware of my presence as they kept a watchful eye on the crew.

IMG_0012.JPG

Once they hit dry land, the fledglings were in a constant state of eating. They seemed to be able to eat on the run, only lifting their heads on occasion.

IMG_0014.JPG

Can you see the resemblance here? At the rate they seem to be growing, I would imagine that it will not be long until they take flight.

IMG_9975.JPG

Eating on the go, I guess it's like us grabbing a quick meal at a drive-up window and chowing down while making our way to our destination.
The parent in this picture seems to have one of its children right up its butt, an all too familiar scene from back in the day.

IMG_9980.JPG

With six young ones to tend to, parenting can be exhausting.

IMG_9999.JPG

On the short trek home, I just had to stop to take a picture of the beauty that surrounds us this time of year as the wildflowers captivate our senses.

IMG_0017.JPG

Thanks to all of those #featheredfriends who keep this community at the top of the charts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency