The Pukeko Bird in New Zealand

Hi feathered friends community,

This is my first time posting to this community. I am a keen amateur photographer and usually find myself shooting landscapes but on this occasion I was super lucky to get an opportunity to capture some shots of this beauty!
This is a native New Zealand bird called the Pukeko. It is found is other parts of the world such as Australia and Indonesia but is native to NZ. It had a violet/blue head and Breast which looks like silk, I love the colour! Black wings and a red beak :) which is so great to see!

These are often seen around lakes and wetlands, and there’s lots in the Waikato! I’m sure there are some in the South Island but I haven’t seen any there.

I hope you like the photos.

Screenshot 2021-08-03 at 11.59.23.png

Screenshot 2021-08-03 at 11.59.49.png

Screenshot 2021-08-03 at 11.59.36.png

I appreciate you stopping by if you got this far,

Peace and love to you all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency