Young Ducks at the Lake

Here are a variety of young ducks at the lake.
p7091552_copy.jpg
The lake has many different aged ducks right now and they all seem to gather here during the evening.

p7091554_copy.jpg
This batch was the oldest and their feathers were mostly fully grown in.

p7091549_copy.jpg
Here they are from a different view. I suspect they are all part of the same family.

p7091551_copy.jpg
This shot shows some of their spotty feathers that aren't fully grown in yet. The males aren't fully teal headed yet.

p7071534_copy.jpg
Here is another group of young mallards. These guys aren't quite yet full size.

p7101564_copy.jpg
Here is a newly hatched batch feeding off algae in a shallow area of the lake.

p7141592_copy.jpg
I also noticed some medium sized wood ducklings. I didn't see their mother around but she might have been hiding in the weeds. Note how their eye stripe doesn't connect to their beak.

p7141586_copy.jpg
Hopefully these little guys aren't on their own at this age. They are still about halfway to full size.

p7071530_copy.jpg
On the bank of the lake I visited some of the almost fully grown Canadian Geese. This one still has about 15% more to grow and all its coloring has filled in. It still made whistling gosling sounds though probably hoping I was there to feed it. Once they become fully grown they start hissing at you instead.

p7071541_copy.jpg
Now I have become the observed. When I got home I felt something watching me and saw a little squirrel head high up on the building looking down at me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency