Feathered Friday - Old Demon Deer and a Purple Eyed Vulture

Here is a mixed bag of feathered friends for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100

p9103900_copy.jpg

As I was processing my photos for this #featheredfriday I ran across this scary looking deer photo I took at dusk with a flash. His eyes lit up like some kind of supernatural creature.

p7013547_copy.jpg
I also ran across this old photo of a giant white-backed vulture from a bird show at a zoo nearby. This gal was trained to fly over the crowd and back to the trainer, fortunately it didn't poop on anyone during the flyover.

p4223915_copy.jpg
Now for the usual native bird shots. First up is this bluebird posing nicely for me in the sun on a branch. I have a forest preserve near me with lots of bluebird boxes and they can be photographed easily.

p5291094_copy.jpg
As I was waiting for the bluebird a noisy chattery chickadee was above me on a branch yelling at me. They sound so loud for something barely larger than a hummingbird.

p7093595_copy.jpg
Here's a standard mourning dove, they are nearly as common as pigeons around here. They are a good camera settings test subject.

p7093581_copy.jpg
Here's a song sparrow perching on a fence. They are also pretty common here and have a nice range of songs that are intricate.

p7093569_copy.jpg
I spotted a juvenile red-winged black bird as well. He still needs some feathers on top of his head and he is pretty clumsy still.

p7093570_copy.jpg
He hasn't quite mastered the art of perching on the weeds next to the lake. Any little puff of wind caused him to flail around.

That's all for this #featheredfriday happy hunting :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency