Feathered Friday - Finally A Cooperative Owl

After all these years I have finally found a cooperative wild owl in the forest for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p5291149_copy.jpg
I heard the robins, jays and squirrels going crazy with their bird of prey warning noises.
p5291138_copy.jpg
Then I looked up in the trees for a while and found this barred owl looking at me.
p5291141_copy.jpg
It didn't seem to scared of me but it was annoyed at the robin that was divebombing him.
p5291128_copy.jpg
It stayed there pretty calm allowing me to walk around all sides and get lots of shots.
p5291157_copy.jpg
It even had good lighting so I could get clear shots. My zoom lens does terrible in lots of shade.
p5291167_copy.jpg
I think it found this perch nice and wanted to get some sleep before the long night of hunting ahead. I found him at the Dubuque Iowa Arboretum on a trail far away from the main paths.
p5271068_copy.jpg
I can thank this squirrel and its squawww noise for clueing me in on a bird of prey in the area.
p5291083_copy.jpg
Further down the path I heard a different noise.
p5291073_copy.jpg
A male turkey in full display. He was very colorful and seemed to like the paths that the humans carved out in the forest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency