not a waxwing (10 fotos)

my first encounter with a Mistle Thrush

droz001xw.jpg

I spent a few days last week hunting waxwings. (I'll talk about this in more detail another time). Yes, I saw waxwings for the first time in my life, and even took some photos (but not outstanding ones). Partly for this reason, lately I've started taking telephoto lenses with me again. And a couple of days ago, I had to go on business to the city center. I armed myself with a wide-angle lens for cityscapes, and "just in case" put a telephoto in my backpack. I didn't plan anything on purpose, but I was lucky and I met one wonderful bird.
На прошлой неделе несколько дней я провел охотясь за свиристелями. (Pасскажу об этом в другой раз). Да, я первый раз в жизни видел свиристелей, и даже сделал пару снимков (но снимки так себе). Отчасти по этой причине, последнее время я снова начал брать с собой телевик. Пару дней назад мне нужно было по делам в центр города. Я вооружился шириком (для городских пейзажей) и "на всякий случай" положил в рюкзак телевик. Мне повезло, и у меня состоялась чудесная встреча, где он пригодился.

Итак, я сделал дела и уже поворачивал домой; я наделал банальных стрит-снимков, граффити, нашел на фонарном столбе Джоконду с надпечатанным тегом "меня не сотрёшь"... по пути мне встречались воробьи и голуби, но мой глаз отфильтровывает их и ноги проходят мимо не останавливаясь. Я подходил к станции метро и убрал камеру в сумку. Около памятника Тарасу Шевченко я замедлил шаги - на его лысине сидели и кайфовали два голубя (то ли от чувства собственного превосходства, то ли безнаказанности?..). Я оценил сюжет, освещение, подумал, стоят ли двое голубей, срущих на голову Т.Шевченко, моих усилий -- ведь нужно было доставать камеру и на морозе менять широкоугольник на телефото. Я решил что "ценности не прдставляет", и двинулся дальше - и через 10 шагов я увидел Его.

So, I did my business and was on my way home. I took some photographs in the genre of "street", graffiti, found Gioconda on a lamppost with an overprinted tag "you can't erase me" ... I met sparrows and pigeons along the way, my eye is already filtering them out and my legs pass by without stopping. I was already approaching the subway station and put the camera in my bag. I slowed down near the monument to Taras Shevchenko - on his bald head two pigeons were sitting and blissed out (either from a sense of their own superiority, or from impunity? ..). I appreciated the plot, the lighting, I wondered if this picture was worth it: the two pigeons shitting on Taras Shevchenko's head - my efforts, because I had to take out the camera and change lenses in the cold (change the wide-angle to telephoto). I decided that it was not worth it, well, his nafik, and moved on. But literally 10 steps later I saw Him.


droz007w.jpg


Это был не голубь и не воробей. На кустах барбариса я заметил вот это чудо, огромный пушистый бело-рыжий комок сидел и трогательно надувался, взъерошивая перья и повышая свою морозоустойчивость. Он смотрелся очень беззащитно, одиноким бедным потеряшкой - на фоне вездесущих голубей и воробьев, мельтешивших на фоне.

It was not a dove or a sparrow. On the barberry bushes, I noticed this miracle, a huge fluffy white-red lump sat and puffed up touchingly, ruffling feathers and increasing its frost resistance. He looked very defenseless, a lonely poor loser - against the background of the ubiquitous pigeons and sparrows that flickered in the background.


droz008w.jpg


Я думал меньше 1/10 секунды, лихорадочно доставая камеру и жадными руками привинчивая телефото объектив, я пожирал глазами объект съемки: вдруг он улетит, пока я готовлю камеру? Я начал подкрадываться к жертве фотосессии, и делал кадры с каждым шагом - а вдруг птица улетит, и я останусь вообще без ничего? Но птенец не улетал. Издалека я решил что это свиристель (за которыми я как раз гонялся на той неделе). Но чем ближе я подходил, тем яснее становилось, что это не свиристель, а другая птица - он не имел хохолка, и оперение было более яркое. Он выглядел как птенец-несмышлёныш, но откуда зимой случиться нелетающему птенцу? Рановато для птенцов.

I thought for less than 1/10 of a second, frantically taking out the camera and screwing the telephoto lens with greedy hands, I devoured the subject with my eyes: what if it flies away while I prepare the camera? I started sneaking up on the victim of the photo shoot, and took shots with every step - what if the bird flies away, and I will be left without anything at all? But the chick did not fly away. From a distance, I decided it was a waxwing (which I was just chasing that week). But the closer I got, the clearer it became that it was not a waxwing, but a different bird - it did not have a tuft, and the plumage was brighter. He looked like a foolish chick, but how could a flightless chick happen in winter? It's too early for the chicks.


droz009w2.jpg

droz009w1.jpg

Я обнаглел и подошел практически на расстояние вытянутой руки, продолжая щелкать затвором. Птиц подпустил меня на расстояние полуметра, потом не выдержал и передвинулся на соседнюю ветку. Так повторилось два раза, а потом... у меня села вторая, запасная батарейка. Вот так маленькие ограничения повышают качество выходящего продукта -- иначе я бы ушел не с десятком, а с сотней одинаковых карточек. :) Дома при помощи интернета, гугля и запросов "зимние птицы Ленинградской области" я выяснил, что я встретил дрозда, молодого дрозда, а именно такую разновидность как "дрозд-рябинник". Вот так выглядит более взрослая особь:

I got insolent and came almost at arm's length, continuing to click the shutter. The birds let me go to a distance of half a meter, then could not stand it and moved to the next branch. This was repeated two times, and then ... my second, spare battery went down. This is how small restrictions increase the quality of the outgoing product - otherwise I would have left not with a dozen, but with a hundred identical cards. :) At home, with the help of the Internet, Google and queries "winter birds of the Leningrad region", I found out that I had met a thrush, a young thrush, namely such a species as the "field thrush". This is what a more adult individual looks like:


#img #src


Но это уже было когда я вернулся домой и обрабатывал фоточки. Зная имя, остальное уже дело техники, прочитать про повадки и особенности этого вида. Я выяснил, что большинство дроздов улетает на зимовку, но не все, и вот как раз некоторых, которые остаются, и можно встретить зимой в ленинградской области. Так что случай не типичный, но бывает, ничего удивительного. Чудесная встреча, я получил массу удовольствия от наблюдения за птицей с такого небольшого расстояния!

But that was already when I returned home and processed the photos. Knowing the name, the rest is a matter of technology, read about the habits and features of this species. I found out that most of the blackbirds fly away for wintering, but not all, and here are just some that remain and can be found in the Leningrad region in winter. So the case is not typical, but it happens, nothing surprising. Wonderful meeting, I had a lot of fun watching the bird from such a short distance!


More pics from my set:

droz011w.jpg

droz012w.jpg

droz014w.jpg

droz015w.jpg


! 2.jpg

I welcome @rocky1, @appreciator, @upmewhale, @darthknight, @ranchorelaxo to check the post and enjoy the visuals.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency