Birds and wires

Well, the title says it all!: for this week's SMAP, birds on wires is what we want to see! And fortunately, for anyone that likes to photograph these guys, our #featheredfriends tend to like wires very much.


Common stonechat - Saxicola rubicola, male

Actually, it was exactly perching on wires that I've been able to catch on camera most of the species I saw in my last birdwatching experience. This male stonechat was my best "bird on wire" photo of the day, for sure; but a lot more species followed.


Hoopoe - Upupa epops

I know, I know: technically, this bird is not on wire! But it's a hoopoe, and I can rarely photograph them! Besides, she had wires near enough, so it counts for me! ;)

Some wires even had more than a specie at the same time. While I was roaming in the trails, I heard a familiar sound; I though this species hadn't arrived yet, but after searching a little bit more... there it was!


European bee-eater - Merops apiaster

Bee eaters came early this year! It's always great to see them, they're one of the most colourful bird species we have here. I 've only managed to see one perched, although I saw quite a few of them in flight.

Rememer I said some wires had more than one species? Yep, the little bee eater had company.


Spotless starling - Sturnus unicolor

A couple of starlings was also enjoying the morning sun, and probably catching up on conversation with the freshly arrived bee eater. I couldn't get a more decent photo of them, but here's a couple of starlings with a lot more detail, captured a couple years ago in another trip.


Common starling - Sturnus vulgaris

The common starlings are a little more colourful than their spotless cousins, and a little bit more photogenic; at least, not camera-shy, since they allowed me to get pretty close!

And to wrap it up, a usual presences in our villages; they were waiting for the photo, as I returned from my nature walk to lunch.


Barn swallow - Hirundo rustica

Probably the most common swallow species in Portugal; the long forked tail and the reddish-brown throat are distinctive features!

Let's see what other cool species will we find in this week's posts, I guess we won't be short of entries this time! 🙂

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency