Some Friday photos from my memory file.

Each of these photos hold a special memory for me.
marian_and_squirry_30_march_2020.jpg

The last time that we saw "Squirry" as she is now permanently gone. She was such a wild/tame blessing to have around and we had much fun with her.
Her grandchildren still eat nuts here in our garden, but none of them are anything like squirry was.

During the month of September 2017, I took my first photo of a dragonfly flying over a fish in the water. The photo was taken at a dam in a nature reserve when we were still living up north in the country.
It was a great personal achievement for me, as I have tried countless of times to get a flying drag above a fish in the dam.
fish_and_flying_drag_22_september_2017.jpg

Barry the Barbet somehow knew that we were moving out soon and in the early morning he came to greet us. He was sitting on the front gate of our garden up north and watched me as I was taping some boxes for the move on our patio.
I have not seen a Barbet like this down here where we are now and I think that they only live up north.
13_june_2018.jpg

And finally a sad memory. The commitee decided to prune all of the trees in our complex as it was the new Spring season. I asked them to wait for a week until all of the new life in the nests were out, but they would not hear of it and we ended up with many bird babies.
I am holding two Sparrow babies here and don't want to show you the Loerie babies, as none of them could make it.
Just the cruelty of people to have all things their own way.
sparrow_babies.jpg

I have much to say about the last sentence above , Just the cruelty of people to have all things their own way, as we have encountered it a few times in our lives. Nobody likes to have an order stayed or rescinded and I can understand that, as in the past I have managed large workforces and discipline was important.
But I was always open to alternative suggestions, or requests.

Nowadays this consideration seems to have fallen by the wayside and we have new autocratic persons in charge that brooks no interference in their rules. Even if a consideration on behalf of nature is requested. And who weeps but Mother nature, as you can see the deteriorating stage of nature all around.

We really have to change our thinking if we want to save this planet and the care of nature is the first place to start.
Sadly prestige and pride are our own worst enemies, not even to talk about the mad chase after quick riches at the expense of nature.

I am allowed to rant a little bit now and then and I fear that we are surely heading for disaster if we don't stop what we are doing now.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency