Here is the new baby.

A Happy Friday to all and here's Sandra, our new little girl.
339.jpg

Brand new and already fluffed against the cold. Such a cutie.

The past two weeks my eyes were fixed on their nest, but I just knew that I would get the baby.

That same nest has lasted through a series of cold fronts and storms during the past weeks and we were filled with joy to see the new little Southern Double-collared (Cinnyris chalubeus) baby.
I only saw the new little one fleetingly yesterday, as the parents were hiding her from danger, but today Lady Patience helped me to get her on camera. Yes it was a long wait, but Lady Luck smiled on me.

Two days out of the nest and she was already sipping nectar from the Bottle Brush flower.
337.jpg

Sandra is our neighbor and we named the baby after her, as she allowed me on her property to take care of the nest.
338.jpg

Of course mom and dad were all around to protect the baby and here the mom was sitting on a nearby bush.
270.jpg

Dad was flying around announcing the new baby with joy.
278.jpg

Mom and dad had reason to worry as this morning I caught this guy on camera in our high cork, oak tree.
He looks like an African Goshawk (Accipiter tachiro)
002.jpg

Sadly the little baby had her first nasty experience, not from the hawk, but a jealous Southern Double-collared male flew in and bumped the baby right off her seat at that flower. Dad and mom went ballistic and they both attacked the jealous male, flitting around at top speed and I got a few shots for another post.
Thankfully the baby was okay, as I could hear her anxious cheep inside the tree.
Such is life.

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting another post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments
Ecency