A quick walk on a cold day.

A variety of birds at out local pond.
263.jpg

I loved the way that little gossling was walking on the water plant leaf.

It was lunchtime so we got two meat pies at a service station and we popped in to the nature reserve to sit at the pond to eat in peace.
But a big mistake as there were many families with small noisy children that would scare even the ants away. So we took a quick walk around the pond and returned to our car.
Here's some quick snaps that I took on our walk.

There were 9 gosslings of the Egyption Goose species (Alopochen aegyptiaca)
337.jpg

This lovely youngster is a Cape Grassbird (Sphenoeacus afer)
279.jpg

Preening himself in the cold winter sun.
287.jpg

Now this guy some of you will know, as he is a Cape Sugarbird (Promerops cafer).
The tag ring on his left leg bears his registration number and that means that he is recorded as an endemic species.
331.jpg

His female partner was sitting higher up in the tree.
333.jpg

Finally this guy with the red mask eating the Syringa tree berries is a Red-Faced Mousebird.(Urocallis indicus)
207.jpg

Now I can write much about each of the bird species here, but I will rather change it into a challenge.

Why don't you Google each of the bird specie names and tell me in the comments about what you found interesting about them?

A tip here is that you can scroll through all of the posts on my blog to see where I had detailed the birds before and you can give me the post dates where you found them mentioned before.
An easy task, as I only have about a thousand posts on my blog 🤣

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Canera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you enjoyed the pictures and the descriptions.

Thank you kindly for supporting another post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency