The Southern double-collared sunbird (Cinnyris chalybeus): A Golden Friend

Getting used to the birds in the area, I have come to identify each individual bird species' call that visits the garden. The Southern double-collared sunbird (or in my home language, Suiker bekkie, or sugar mouth) is a beautiful bird that visits the garden every so often. I know their "shrill" or high-pitched call. I am always too late with my camera, as they are very quick and shy. This particular one, yesterday morning, hid in the shadows for a while. I managed to capture some photographs of him.

It is stunning how colorful this male bird is, the gold and red. The female, in contrast, is a very dull grey. I did not see a female in the tree, but I managed to get a photograph a while ago. I will add this below the shots I managed to get. The color difference is amazing! So please enjoy these photographs of a stunning little bird friend!

The Shots

00.jpg

0.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

The Female in Contrast

_dsc5060.jpg

Flying away

_dsc8405.jpg

The Attempts

_dsc8429.jpg

_dsc8355.jpg

_dsc8361.jpg

_dsc8364.jpg

_dsc8369.jpg

_dsc8373.jpg

_dsc8376.jpg

_dsc8404.jpg

_dsc8352.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency