Up close with some flamingos


wwest210731_2351.jpg

Such weird birds

break.png

About the third day we were in Cabo, a group of flamingos showed up on the resort's property and hung out in one of the ponds for the remainder of our stay. It was pretty cool seeing flamingos up close and not be in a zoo or anything or see any tags on their legs.


wwest210730_2266.jpg

The last time I saw some flamingos in the wild was when I was in Tanzania near one of the nature reserves, but I was not able to get up close to them like this. I bet I could have gotten closer to these ones, but I didn't want to risk scaring them or anything, so I kept some distance and just took some photos of them drinking the water and cleaning themselves.


wwest210731_2350.jpg

So I just learned that a group of flamingos is called a flamboyance. That is pretty funny because the word flamboyant is "marked by or given to strikingly elaborate or colorful display or behavior" source and that explains why people are drawn to the way flamingos look.


wwest210730_2260.jpg

Here is one of them being extra flamboyant and trying to get everyone's attention. These flamingos didn't have as bright of a pink color as other flamingos I have seen and I think that is mainly because their diet is different and they aren't getting as much brine shrimp as other flamingos that have a more pink color to them.


wwest210730_2261.jpg

Flamingos are some of the weirdest birds I have seen though because of their long legs that bend backwards and their upside down beaks. They do look pretty fluffy though and I just wanted to go up to them and grab them and give them a good squeeze.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency