Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - Bird With Open Beak

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 33! The theme for this round is "Bird With Open Beak". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

My first photo is my entry and features a Red-winged Blackbird. If it wasn't for the red wing then you would almost think this was just a silhouette. This one is a male which has a black body with a patch of red and yellow on the wing. The female looks very different and has an overall brown streaked body and a bit of orange on the face.

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-1ok.jpg

I photographed this Red-winged Blackbird while I was visiting the Maryland District of the Assateague Island National Seashore. I almost decided on a different open beaked bird as my entry but I chose the Red-winged Blackbird because I don't see them very often which made it a little more special to me. This one was sitting in a Loblolly pine tree singing and it has a pretty song. It sat on a branch singing, possibly for a mate, then flew off for a minute then returned again briefly before deciding to fly off to a different tree altogether.

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-2ok.jpg

The following are some other open beaked birds that I was considering as my entry before going with the Red-winged Blackbird. I took the next few photos from a window in my home. I was watching some House Sparrows at a bird feeder and caught this little female that was making some noise. I also tried to get only open beaks without having a seed in the mouth.

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-3ok.jpg

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-4ok.jpg

Here is a male House Sparrow at a bird feeder that I had hanging close to the larger more round feeder.

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-5ok.jpg

My last photo shows a Great Blue Heron in the Gunpowder river at the Big Gunpowder Falls State Park in Baltimore County, Maryland. This is the only photo that I could find that shows a Great Blue Heron with an open beak. Obviously, I had to show him (or her) for just that reason alone! 😊

smap-openbeak8-27-2021-6ok.jpg

Thank you @nelinoeva for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest!!
Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriends!!
Thank you also to all the sponsors and @oks2crypto for judging!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency