Feathered Friends "Show Me A Photo" Contest Entry - Some Bird Feet and Legs!

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 28! The theme for this round is "Bird Feet and Legs". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

My first photo is my entry and I took my photo at the Conowingo Dam area in Harford County, Maryland. Can you guess what bird these slender legs and feet belong to?

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-1ok.jpg

I hope you guessed the Great Blue Heron! It was a lot of fun watching this Great Blue Heron sneaking up on a photographer who was shooting in the opposite direction that this pretty bird was approaching from. I think someone motioned to her that the Heron was behind her because she turned around and I'm sure got some terrific shots of this beautiful bird!

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-2ok.jpg

I have to say that I did have a little bit of a hard time with this one. For some reason my brain read 'bird feet and legs' but only registered the feet part .. lol. So, I did some re-cropping on the photos that I had already cropped because you know I'm not just gonna show off the feet and legs of just one bird now! I tend to have a "love / hate" relationship with this next bird.

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-3ok.jpg

That's right! It's the Blue Jay! I love them because they are so pretty but I hate that they can be so aggressive sometimes. Mostly, I love them though but prefer to see them from a distance.

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-4ok.jpg

Shhhh! I don't want to spook you but these legs and feet do look a little scary!

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-5ok.jpg

They just happen to belong to a Black Vulture. There is a 'committee' of Black Vultures that reside at the Conowingo Fisherman's Park in Harford County. They can be scary looking especially when they are perched quietly up in a tree and you just happen to look up without expecting to see them. You would think that I would be used to seeing them up there already! I do think they are pretty cool looking birds though and I love seeing them when I visit there.

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-6ok.JPG

The next bird feet and legs belong to a very common bird and it is an easy one to guess?!

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-7ok.jpg

If you guessed "chicken" then (sorry) that is incorrect! They belong to this Gull that was hanging out in a parking lot. The feet do resemble the feet of a chicken but the webbing is a definite give away.

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-8ok.jpg

Speaking of webbing ...

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-9ok.jpg

I photographed this Goose while I was visiting Loch Raven Reservoir in Baltimore County, Maryland. Loch Raven Reservoir is a less than ten minute drive from where I live.

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-10ok.JPG

My last collage of feet and (little) legs are from a bird that lives even closer!

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-11ok.jpg

They belong to, Jimmy, our Sun Conure! Honestly, I'm not even sure if the feet match up to the photos at this point. I took so many photos trying to get his feet but Jimmy does like to move around quite a bit!

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-12ok.jpg

As a matter of fact, it almost looked like he was doing an Irish jig at one point! 😁

featheredfriendssmap7-15-2021-13ok1.jpg

Thank you @nelinoeva for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest!!
Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriends!!
Thank you also to all the sponsors and @oks2crypto for judging!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency