Birding on San Juan Island, Part One

I saw so many birds on my last trip to San Juan Island! I took so many pictures that I still have to sort through, but I am excited to share the photos I do have ready, and will post more in the coming weeks.
San Juan Island is a part of Washington Sate in the US, and is located in the Salish Sea. Here is a Google Maps link.
To get there from the mainland you have to take a ferry. There is a beautiful nature preserve at the ferry port, where I was able to get a few photos of birds while I waited until boarding time.

Anna's Hummingbird
DSC_8291.JPG


Pair of Bald Eagles perched on a pole
DSC_8373.JPG


Pelagic Cormorant
DSC_8361.JPG


Not positive on the ID, but I think either a Red-faced or Double-crested Cormorant splashing about
DSC_8389.JPG


Once on the island I of course found the crows.
A salty Northwestern Crow. There are some arguments that they have interbred with American Crows and there is no such species anymore

DSC_8553.JPG


Bohemian Waxwing
DSC_8588.JPG


White-crowned Sparrow
DSC_8627.JPG


Juvenile Bald Eagles
DSC_8724.JPG

DSC_8735.JPG
At least I think so. They look similar to Golden Eagles but don't have bright yellow on the top of their beaks, just on the underside. If this is incorrect, please let me know! I'm happy to learn.


Barn Swallows.
DSC_8874.JPG

DSC_8784.JPG
They were super fast and hard to photograph!


Band-tailed Pigeon
DSC_8815.JPG


Spotted Towhee
DSC_8893.JPG
And a recording of a cute springy call another Towhee was making (plus my favorite bird song in the background from a Swainson's Thrush).


Bank Swallow, aka House Martin
DSC_8943.JPG


An Unidentified Duck
DSC_8907.JPG
Does anybody know what kind? I though it might be a Gadwall, but I'm not sure.


Kildeer
DSC_8919.JPG
They blend in so well that when I first took this picture, I thought there was only one.


Belted Kingfisher
DSC_9023.JPG
Two Kingfishers arguing over turf.
DSC_9018.JPG


Great Blue Heron fishing
DSC_9213.JPG
DSC_9218.JPG
And one chasing another out of their fishing territory.
DSC_9254.JPG


I hope you have enjoyed this post! I will share more of my bird pictures from the island as I sort through and edit them.
Thanks for looking!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency