A baby crow with unique feet

For this week's Show Me A Photo Contest: Bird Feet, I present to you....
Cute little fledgling American Crow feet!!!
Of course it's crows. I know, I know, I post a lot of crows, but these are really cute bird feet.
DSC_5826.JPG
This is Famous. Famous has unique feet because they have four white toenails! The discoloration is symmetrical, too. Toenails in American Crows are normally black.
Famous is the only on in the family with white toenails, as you can see from this candid family portrait.
DSC_5949.JPG
I decided on the name "Famous" because of this photo.
DSC_5809.JPG
When I was reviewing my pictures that evening and saw this, the theme song from the 1980 movie Fame popped into my head and wouldn't go away.

Famous is actually begging to be fed in this shot. Fledglings can feed themselves at this age but still beg. I was excited to be able to capture these next photos of Famous "begging" while independently picking up food off the ground.
DSC_5833.JPG

DSC_5837.JPG
When it comes to crows and their feet, they are very much like primates. They use their feet to manipulate things and hold them in place while they examine and eat them.
DSC_5594.JPG
For those who follow the Bo blog ( #bothecrow) this is a sneak preview for the coming week!

Crow feet are very sensitive. When they investigate something, like, say, a fancy luggage rack or a ziptie on a suspension support for a telephone pole, they not only use their eyes and beaks, but they use their feet to feel things out.
(More Bo!)
DSC_5288.JPG

I actually am very fascinated with crow feet and have tons of pictures of them. Here's a close up of Bo's feet. If you click on the picture to enlarge it you can see how they have scaly layers. I love them!

DSC_6368.JPG
I hope he never gets Botox....
Anyway.
I'll close with this video of Famous snacking on some yummy moistened dog and cat kibble like a real grownup crow.


Thanks for looking! If you like birds, you should give this contest a try!
DSC_3391.JPG

Edited for typo and because I forgot to include this picture of Bo's feet on my car antenna.
DSC_6374.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency