The Wood Duck Family at Feathered Friends

Hello Everyone and Welcome to #featheredfriends
Today I Give You a Mated Pair of Wood Ducks and Their Six Little Ducklings.



IMG_3829 (2).jpg

First off I'll start with a beauty shot of the parents.
The male is the colorful one on the right and the more muted colored female is on the left.


I did the image editing and loaded them into the template last night so I could just write the post when I got home today. I was browsing through #featheredfriends and notice @nelinoeva posted The Duck Family @nelinoeva/duck-family .
So I'm thinking (yes I do that sometimes) what are the odds we both come up with ducklings on the same day ? Well great minds think alike I guess ;)

IMG_3767 (2).jpg

As I arrived at the pond a lady and her kids were throwing grain to the ducks (rolled oats I think) and all the ducks were heading in for lunch. Then I here one of the kids yell "DUCKLINGS", "They have ducklings".

IMG_3768 (2).jpg

I stop and took several images with the 18mm to 55mm and flipped over to the Sigma 150mm-600mm to get some close ups of these beautiful birds. I ended up taking a ton of images at the pond and I didn't even come here to image ducks lol. I came down here to image the new Sky Walk they built off in the forest behind the duck pond.


IMG_3763 (2).jpg

Here are a few images of Mom feeding with her little ducklings.
I was glad to see people feeding them something more wholesome than bread as it's not very good for them. I didn't take anything to feed them but if I do I bring some grapes( they love grapes) or grains. When I still lived next door I would gather up the snails in the backyard and put them in a coffee can to take down to the pond. The ducks go wild over them.


IMG_3765 (2).jpg

Ahhh How Cute

IMG_3782 (2).jpg

A lot of the images I captured had a fair amount of noise in them =( I was shooting shutter priority and forgot to limit the ISO to 400 and when I checked the image info I found the ISO going as high as 1300 so I got more than a little noise from that high of an ISO.

IMG_3784 (2).jpg

More cuteness

IMG_3786 (2).jpg

Here's a shot with Mom and five of the six ducklings

IMG_3795 (2).jpg

A few more bites before following the gang back to the island.


IMG_3801 (2).jpg

After a nice swim and some lunch it's time to go to the island for a quick preen and a nice nap

IMG_3803 (2).jpg

Come on you guys hurry up.....

IMG_3802 (2).jpg

Ooohhh What's that O.o , lets go check it out.

IMG_3823 (2).jpg

Turtle snuggle !!!

IMG_3824 (2).jpg

This was a surprise, I've never witnessed a bunch of ducklings chillin with a turtle. The turtle has been laying there in the sun and is probably nice and warm and the chicks are insulating the turtle's shady side so it looks like a win win.

IMG_3828 (3).jpg

They are not bringing that thing home I'm putting my flipper down on that
.

IMG_3830 (2).jpg

One more shot before I head off into the trees to find the Sky Walk.


IMG_3888 (2).jpg

On passing by the ducks on my way out of the park I decided to see if the ducklings wee still kicking it with the turtle... Yep all of them.

IMG_3891 (2).jpg

Oh wait stop pushing or I'm gonna....

IMG_3894 (2).jpg

Faaalll

IMG_3897 (2).jpg

Ducklings laugh it up with the turtle

IMG_3898 (2).jpg

Mom scolds ducklings. Ducklings deny pushing sister in pond and blame Turtle


IMG_3904 (2).jpg

Duckling swims away mumbling some very unladylike chirps, vows to get her own Turtle

IMG_3905 (2).jpg

And Does nener nener nener
Well that's all for this post I had to split the ducks into 2 posts, the ducklings in one and the adults will be in the next one. This post was long one even after breaking to two posts and pairing down the duckling images.
Hope you all enjoyed the images. See you all nest time.

Be sure to check out
@melinda010100
@nelinoeva
@barbara-orenya
and the rest of the gang a @featheredfriends where you can post and find all your feathered odds and ends


Thanks for visiting my post. If you enjoyed it please consider upvoting and following

signature5d79548f8ccab.gif5CEvyaAfMXddUWr7RJhsn4rDdssSqwsN4Ci78ebXixAE6Wf8vt19MjjGZNVNHehSjjRDtMrAw69yQfc2n.png
Unless otherwise noted:
Unless otherwise noted All images original, by me.
All Rights Reserved.
Chromium AutographOnline Signature Maker

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency