The birds of Edinburgh Zoo

Zoo photography is something I've spent a fair amount of time doing, and Edinburgh has a fairly big zoo with an indoor walkthrough aviary that has been home to some quite colourful birds in the past.

So I thought I would share with you a few that I've met over my visits there.

Rainbow Lorikeet

IMGP0594-2.jpg

At one point the aviary was dedicated to just the Rainbow Lori where they would have 50 to 100 of them living within. They were very friendly and enjoyed human interaction where at one point I saw one woman become a Rainbow Lori tree as they all swooped onto her!

flamingo

Flamingo.jpg

The Flamingos are not in the aviary as I mentioned before, but in their own habitat near the entrance to the Zoo, so a present start to the visit, before walking up the hill of exhaustion!

Victoria Crowned Pigeon

IMGP2144.jpg

Massive is the word that comes to mind here, and they walk around without a care in the world.

Eclectus Parrot

5257028240_335205f405_o.jpg

Edinburgh had a male and a female and this one is the female, which you can tell from their Red and blue coat, which is quite the contrast to the male with their near all green colouring, which can be seen here.

IMGP3446-edit.JPG

Lilac Breasted Roller

IMGP1238.JPG

Another that has wonderful colouring on their feathers. And one I remember having a lot of trouble getting a shot of them, took me a few visits until chance had it that they were just standing there on the rope happy to just let me take the picture!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency