Talking to chooks!

This strange story took place one morning during a walk down a road, one that I had not walked before. My mind was in happy mode as I was striding along feeling energised. When out of nowhere a clucky kind of voice interrupted my thoughts.

Psssss, can you let us out?

My head pivoted around checking up and down the footpath and the road for a head hanging out of a car window. But there was nothing, how odd. Then I heard:

Over here, look through the gateway on your left, in a cage with my two feathered friends. You can't miss me, I am the one looking at you.

I looked to my left and saw a brown chook staring intently through the chicken wire. I leant in to check it out. How unexpected, a strong sturdy chicken coup in the front yard in a suburb. This owner certainly wanted his chooks safe.


All Photos - 1 of 1.jpeg

Please let us out, we are desperate to get out of this squashy home, the three feathered chooks said in unison, we are driving each other crazy in this small space. There is not enough room for us three big girls.

All Photos - 1 of 1 (1).jpeg

Ten minutes will be enough to walk and peck for grubs, beetles and worms. The owners aren't home, they will never know.

I saw graffiti on the tin roof. Maybe others have come to help the chooks get out for a while or perhaps they have just had fun with spray cans? A bit of entertainment for school kids walking home from school perhaps? Part of me wanted to let them out, I agreed with chooks roaming free but they were not my chooks and what if a dog got them or the owner came home and caught me? I would have to run for it like @slobberchops does occasionally in his many adventurous trips of old empty buildings. Would I run as fast as he does? I doubt it.

Please, we are driving each other crazy. We have to take turns to run around our coup.

All Photos - 1 of 1 (3).jpeg

I wanted to give the chooks freedom, but going onto another 's property without permission would have to be against the law. Can I run fast enough when chased if caught in the act? I thought for a moment and my answer was a big no.

Pleasseee they begged, we implore you to get us out!

All Photos - 1 of 1 (6).jpeg

Sorry chooks, I can't let you out. What if a dog got you and dragged you off for his dinner? I couldn't live with myself.

This is when I decided to leave quickly, running down the street, eyes straight ahead despite hearing the noisy ruckus coming from the chook house. A lucky escape!

Did I really talk with chooks? Crazy!

Was I in lah lah land? Or was it a dream?

........................................

No, neither. It is merely a fun piece of creative fiction prompted by photos of chooks I snapped when I saw them in this chicken coup recently.

Regards

ooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

As I was writing this fun made up story for #featheredfriends my daughter sent me a pic of a neighbour's chook that actually got out of her coup for a short time. She looked like one happy chook. I suppose she was checking out grubs, worms and beatles. Lucky chook!

All Photos - 1 of 1 (7).jpeg

#featheredfriends brought by the lovely @melinda010100


CBA9E773-BF86-4DB9-9C24-93363F20A66E_4_5005_c.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency