How I Spent my Birthday šŸ˜‡

img_6075.heic


Yesterday, I posted Some Birthday Reflections on How Reading & Writing Saved my Life


image.png


Following that I head out, last night, to an Italian restaurant in Miami, to meet up with old friends and celebrate... Life. The food was memorably good: grilled octopus šŸ™ & ravioli stuffed with blue cheese and pear šŸ Mmhmm

Wining, dining and having profound conversations with a poet friend, I felt like I'd already celebrated my birthday.

But, this morning, when my wife suggested we go to the beach and meet with a friend, I was game for an easy, laid-back day.


img_6047.heic


img_6048.jpg


img_6051.heic


Both our friend and my wife were not up for a swim.

Glancing at the dark clouds up in the sky & hearing rolling thunder, I knew I had to seize the moment & took a restorative plunge into the ocean, moments in.

Sure enough, as soon as I got out, it started raining & we quickly dismantled umbrella & chairs, running for cover.

After a big lunch at our friendā€™s place, my intention was to go for a bike ride, but when I came back from taking out the trash, this little surprise awaitedā€¦


img_6074.heic


img_6078.heic


img_6080.heic


When another friend passed by, we shared our cake with him, then I got out to take my bike ride in an attempt to undo the effects of overeatingā€”before it started to rain, again.


img_6084.heic


img_6083.heic


All in all a sweet, quiet day of gratitude --nature, good company, exercise-- made more exciting by hundreds of lovely birthday wishes from online friends & heartwarming calls from my family & inner circle.


img_6085.png


img_6089.png


And, just like that, Iā€™m 48 years old!

In closing, these cheery words from celebrated childrenā€™s author, Shel Silverstein, who I share a birthday with:

If you are a dreamer come in
If you are a dreamer a wisher a liar
A hoper a pray-er a magic-bean-buyer
If youre a pretender com sit by my fire
For we have some flax golden tales to spin
Come in!
Come in!


img_6087.jpg


img_6039.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency