SHOW ME YOUR NUTS, and WE AIN'T TALKING WALNUTS .....

This is the 2nd time in the last few days I have asked my fellow bloggers to show me your nuts.

I have yet to have anyone show me their nuts and I'm not sure why. That's why I'm asking again.

Oh no, know I get it, I'm not the brightest bulb in the closet, but were you thinking I was asking you to, never mind that couldn't be the reason.

But if it was, you should all be ashamed of yourselves.

IMG_3707 (2).JPG

With complete sincerity, this is what I meant.

Maybe it was a poor choice of words?????
Let me put it another way so none of you little image.png are confused any longer.

My gosh, I can't believe that I've got to explain my request to a bunch of #silverbloggers, I thought by this point in our lives we were all a little more mature than that.

So let me rephrase my request.
Show me your crazy, foolish, insane, nonsensical, wild, quirky, screwy, wacky, weird, farcical, comical, ridiculous, or perhaps bizarro.

Got it good. So that there is no longer any doubt about what I meant by show me, should I dare say it, your nuts, here is a pictorial of me showing you that I'm a little nutty.
IMG_3709.JPG

@farm-mom and I have been harvesting walnuts for the past week. With the nuts perfectly ripened, I thought it may be possible to just shake the tree and have gravity do the rest.

flying nuts.png

As is standard practice, farm-mom immediately told me that I needed a helmet.
Not wanting to run back to get a helmet, I figured the 5-gallon bucket we were going to put the walnuts in would suffice.

IMG_3713.JPG

Boy am I glad that I took her advice. The dam nuts were raining down, hitting the bucket like a drummer on Amphetamines.

IMG_3715.JPG

I took a couple of hits to the old noggin, but what's the worst that could happen, I get a little nuttier.

crash.png

It was worth a couple of blows. Look at that, not a single nut left on the tree.

IMG_3718.JPG

Shaking the tree worked great. What would have taken us 45 minutes, took all of 30 seconds.

We all know that one thing you can't buy is time, so I always figure that the next best thing is to save it.
IMG_3719.JPG

After gathering up all of the little head busters, we had collected just over 300 in less than 15 minutes.

IMG_3723.JPG

So there you have it.
Please, someone, show me your you're nuts.

Hello there @edprivat, you asked me to tag you when I posted about dehusking the walnuts.
That post is in the works, but I thought you may also want to know how to save a little time dislodging the walnuts from the tree.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency