Stress, Troubles and Pitfalls Of A Travelling Retiree

Hello Silver Bloggers and Hivers! I Hope you are all doing fine!

The days had been so stressful for over two weeks now and that is because we travelled to the South. There were so many chores to do before leaving our place. I need to trim my container plants (berries) on the balcony, I need to cook all the vegetables available in the fridge and prepare the apartment so that when we come back after this winter break, the flat will be ready and I need not be stressed, just relax. I know that it will be the same situation here in Andalusia when we come back to Vienna. The chores repeat in itself. Having a second home is not easy. We have been living in Andalusia since 1998 when my husband and I were still working. There are a couple of pitfalls being a retiree. Once you´ve reached a certain age and in my case, everything goes slow. One might think that it is all easy-peasy when reaching retirement years, but that is not in our case.

IMG_20211013_084419.jpg

Andalusian sunrise taken 13.10.21


image.png

IMG_1000.JPG

After living in a house with a garden for almost 30 years, we decided to give-it up. The work in and around the house had become tedious. Hubby´s part was to cut the pine hedges as well as the apple tree weeks before leaving the country to escape its cold season. I had difficulty going upstairs because I have been suffering from my heel spurs and the house we lived in for 30 years, a Maisonette, had around 50 steps. Our decision to leave the house turned out to be a good idea. We can no longer do the chores we once did 30 years ago.

I have been stressed the last few days, I have to admit. I felt burned-out! I did so many errands, made sure that we had everything we needed before we left. Then there was this visiting various doctors and the check-up that went with those visits. You see, I had to make sure that everything is fine with my health because the hospital here in Malaga is very far. I travelled 60 Km (one way) to visit my husband who was admitted for a week during Christmas. He had an accident cutting the olive trunks for the fireplace and his glove was caught by the blade of the cutter thereby hitting his 2 fingers that were almost cut off. The accident happened in seconds so he was caught unaware of it all.

Vienna International Airport

The departure of our plane to Malaga was delayed by 30 minutes due to the last-minute passengers that came to the gateway in bulks... it seems that everyone wanted to go out somewhere after all the pandemic blues.

silver bloggers 4.jpg

Frankfurt Airport

Our layover had been in Frankfurt, the airport is so huge that we needed to have a caddy-like car to get us to the other wing of the building. Arriving at the Frankfurt Airport, We arrived at the gate 20 minutes before the bulk of Travelers came after us. The plane was full of passengers who were so excited to get the sun in Southern Spain.

IMG_20211012_120909.jpg

The view from the front yard (below image).... a friend´s farm with arrays of avocado trees, mangoes and olive trees

When we arrived in Malaga, the Skies were blue and the temperature was mild at 25°C. Unfortunately, we couldn't do any food shopping because Oct.12 was a Spanish holiday and all shops were closed except for the mini-market at the Gas Station. While there, I got everything I needed to survive the evening since we were hungry after the big stress.

IMG_20211013_152727.jpg

Internet and Satellite Antenna - down!

IMG_20211016_135415.jpg

While at home, the internet was not working (as always) although we had ordered the re-installation of the same and paid in advance. We were away for 22 months because of the pandemic and a lot has changed with our connection. We called the provider and they have changed the antenna as well as installed a new router to update it with the 5G system. So far so good... But one more problem was the TV, the satellite had to be fixed because we didn't have a signal. The English guy could only come next Monday and for me too long not to be able to watch the news on what is happening in the world....I thought of fixing the problem myself by clearing the antenna area from tall grasses. I found the screws that fixed the antenna to the wall have loosen. The wind could be so gusty on top of the mountains we live on.... Hurray, I was able to fix it and the signal came back!

Cacti and Succulent Garden

Now my next move will be to do the garden, my cacti and succulents have been waiting to get trimmed after 22 months of my absence. I am so glad they survived the heat in Andalusia (40°C+). Nobody watered them, just mother nature took care of everything, we have a Spanish friend who takes care of the wild grasses when we are not in Andalusia.

IMG_20211013_151855.jpg

silver bloggers 3.jpg

Silver bloggers1.jpg

IMG_20211013_152320.jpg

These brown succulents will turn green in a couple of days, they are healthy tho and the moment they absorbed water, they will show their greenest of green color. The flowers of these succulents are similar to the red and orange flowers of Aloe Vera.

IMG_20211013_152137.jpg

Andalusian Sunrise in pink (below image).

The sun rises shortly after 8:00 AM here . Nobody knows what the sunrise scene will be because it changes depending on the cluster of clouds on the skies. This photo was taken 2 days ago.


IMG_20211015_080413.jpg

I am not sure how it is with other retired people whose own choice of adventure is travelling. It's not that I do not like travelling, it is the stress that comes with it every time......Until next time, see you around!

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

All images were photographed by @mers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency