Embracing Silver with Arms Open wide!

I've been embracing my Silver years with arms open wide and am loving it!

During the latter part of my career as a GIS Technician, I started planning our bnb; those who have not read that part of my story can read a little about setting up our bnb.

Although Covid put a halt to that income last year, Hive became my knight in shining armour and saved the day; thankfully we've now sprung back into full operation again.
In my Silver years this is keeping me busy in a fabulous way as I can work from home with the added bonus of meeting the nicest people from all walks of life and from all over the world as well.

Office.jpg
My peaceful little home office.

However, being forced into lockdown by Covid and having to welcome new guests all masked up and avoiding close contact, has been somewhat stifling.

I'm loving being a #silverblogger, which by the way, has nothing to do with stacking coins for those not familiar with our community!
It refers to that mop on our heads or in some cases where the silver that's meant to be there, has been repossessed;)

I try my best to finish my blogs on the right side of midnight, although I often go way past the midnight hour, but hey, I still have not turned into a pumpkin as in the fairytale Cinderella!

That's another benefit of being a #silverblogger as the hour I get to bed doesn't really matter anymore as I can sleep in a little, have coffee in bed and start the day slowly while the working crowd are all getting ready to face those busy roads and the workplace which can be a harsh world!
Of course that is when none of our bnb guests have ordered breakfast!

The unfortunate downside of being a Silver is that many of us end up taking care of an elderly parent and mom Lily's fractured ankle is one such unfortunate event, and it's not been easy, but keeping one's sense of humour does help so Mom and I have our own little private jokes.

Now that many of our lockdown restrictions have been lifted and we can move around more freely, I grab the opportunity of going out to meet a special friend or close family when our housekeeper is here to tend to Mom.
We obviously still have to be mindful of this third Covid wave we're currently going through, so are careful but have I metamorphosed into a Social Butterfly in my Silver years or is it the mere fact of being kept in isolation for so long that makes me long to explore new places with friends or family by my side and not somewhere in virtual space?

Lone Butterfly flitting here and there in search of nectar but landing on barren land!

IMG_20190409_113225.jpg

I'm still not a Grandma even though I've been Silver for quite a while, but that's ok except when long lost friends ask me...

How many grandchildren do you have?

Well, I have two beautiful sons and I'm sure once they're ready for babies, I will be a grandma, but for now, our bnb guests' children are my grandkids.
They arrive as total strangers, but by the time they leave are like family; that's the beauty of running a small bnb.

20210608_122426.jpg

Being a Silver, we're able to go on vacation midweek at a fraction of peak season rates plus we get to avoid the crowds.
Us Silvers are offered discounts at many shopping malls on 'pensioner's day', but I must admit to still not having made it there on those days!

Avoiding the hustle and bustle is the best part of being a Silver so we've been heading to the Valley of a Thousand Hills at every opportunity as we see the most awesome quaint little places we have not been to each time we take a drive up there.
Stoenhouse.jpg

Delicious fare and stunning views at Stonehouse, a gorgeous nursery cum gift shop cum restaurant, will tell you more about that in #marketfriday.

Stonehouse food views.jpg

I'm living and loving life, can't wait to read how you embrace life as a Silver!


Silver Bow.jpg

This has been my response to the twice monthly #silverbloggers #BoW topic Embracing Silver, although I am not eligible for the prize.

How to enter your post for the Blog of the Week (#BoW)

  1. Posts must be in English and obviously centre on the week’s topic.
  2. Prose must be a minimum of 350 words. If it’s a photo or graphic essay, the photos must be your original work and preferably with some sort of back-story to the images.
  3. The blog must be posted in/from our community
  4. Tag it #BoW - blog of the week. And follow the tag so you can easily find other entries.
  5. Share the link to your post in the comments of this post.

Deadlines
The contest closes at midnight GMT (also known as UTC) on Monday 14 June 2021 and the winners will be announced later the following week.

Heart page break.png

Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

CLICK IMAGE TO JOIN SILVER BLOGGERS:



Banner created by @derangedvisions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency