Is retirement exactly how you planned it to be?

Retirees are generally a wise lot, sensible and down to earth given that I am in this age group, a proud #silverblogger. We know that well laid plans do not always work out. We have been around the block a few times already. Nor would we see ourselves as failures to find out that the long held dreams for certain businesses, caravan/ RV travelling or shifting house etc would not be for us.

So, of course being sensible oldies refection has always been automatically built into retirement plans. It is fairly typical to hear among this age group, 'We thought we would try it out.' Changing our plans is our plan.

So if you are retired and you are asked whether your retirement is exactly how you planned it to be, what would you say? I think perhaps I would hear both yes's and no's. For example, one couple who decided to sell their house and travel for a number of years caravanning invested in a house after one year. Although they loved the bohemian life they really wanted a home base for family to visit and stay They still plan to caravan now and then.

Another couple who planned to stay in their home town in Central Queensland for retirement sold after two years and have bought a unit in inner Brisbane. A couple who set up an Air BnB business love it and plan to continue with a cleaner coming in to do the clearning they are away. My friend who bought the unit in inner Brisbane near the Brisbane River is very happy with her decision. She plans to stay in this location for at least 10 years.

For myself and my husband, we are very happy with our shift to the Sunshine Coast. Living across the road from the surf beach is a dream come true. But, in the future there is likely to be plans for a shift to be closer to our adult kids and grandchildren.

But, I will say I never expected to be writing as much as I do on Hive. I love writing so it is a pleasure.

Happy retirement life fellow #silverbloggers.

All Photos - 1 of 1 (8).jpeg

oooooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

There are plenty of walking paths in my part of the Sunshine Coast, another reason why this location suits me in my retirement years.

All Photos - 1 of 1.jpeg

#silverbloggers brought by the clever @lizelle

Thank you

ECC271F6-E973-4747-BC60-452EDF6EBA13_1_201_a.jpeg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My goodbye is in the form of a very pretty bunch of Oriental Lillies that were delivered yesterday as a special surprise. Flowers always brighten up my day, they make it a happier day.

All Photos - 1 of 1 (1).jpeg

#alwaysaflower brought by the lovely @dswigle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency