Hive Open Mic week 69, Lullaby

IMG_20210803_120828.jpg

Honestly, I love when we have certain themes around which we choose songs or compositions in Hive Open Mic weekly events. However, this week brought a question mark for its topic. Does this mean that it is a surprise, free theme, or that each of the participants will surprise us with a song we would not even think of, in their own choice? In my case, it will be choosing a composition that I guess you’ve never heard of. More precisely, not even for a composer.

As the first information, I will let you know that the composer is Isidor Bajic. He was a successful Serbian composer (1878 –1915) actually, at that time the region was under Austro-Hungarian Empire. He wrote down folk and Serbian church melodies and used them in his compositions for piano, choral works and songs. He founded a music school (now very reputable) in Novi Sad in 1909.

The song you have listened to is a lullaby, as you could already see from the title. It is originally written for piano and voice, for his son Vladimir. It is slow, as lullabies have to be, and has a sweet melody with simple accompaniment. I recorded it this morning in the same music school where I played my entry two weeks ago. Sorry for the quality, in few weeks it will be again the usual way of recording the audio for my videos.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency