🎵 “Right Inside” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 79

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


1L9A8609-web.jpg

This week's Hive Open Mic theme is: "Mirrors on Earth." The song I'm sharing here speaks of the mirrors I see in the four elements: earth, water, air, and fire. I see that I and my surroundings are much the same. The rain cries. The breeze breathes. I am like a garden, growing and flourishing. I am like a stallion galloping, a kitty purring, and a choir singing...

Lately, this is the song I sing most often. The reason is because it is a total joy to sing. I like the way it stretches me in the higher notes, and invites me to improvise a certain howl in the spaces between stanzas. Today was my first time looping the song in this way, which allowed me to give multiple layers to the howling sections. That turned out to be a lot of fun for me.

I'm presenting this performance raw, uncut, because the looping is simple to see and hear. In other looping songs, I add lots of layers, and that potentially creates a lot of redundancy for a listener, so I usually chop it up to keep it short and simple. But today's feels pure, so I'm sharing the entire performance, for the first time. To me, it's a sign of progress in this new style of musical expression.

Another sign of up-leveling in this video is the treatment of vocals. Always before, when I use the looping station, I relied on a feature that autotunes my singing, even though it sounds kinda funny because it basically amplifies my voice while also duplicating the voice with enhancement for automatic pitch correction - the resulting output sounds kind of robotic. Here's something that feels more genuine.

Most of all, though, it's the message that makes this song so special to me. It's a positive affirmation that essentially says, "All is well." Because I see that "all is right" in my surroundings, I can believe that all is right in me. This feels like good medicine for today's world.


Right Inside

All I see is right inside of me
Garden rooting down and flourishing
Stallion galloping kitty purring choir singing
Truly we are one for we are earth

All you see is right inside of you
From the mud the water lily blooms
Rain dropping vapor rising teardrops flowing
Truly we are one for we are water

All we see is right inside of us
In the wind the leaf returns to dust
Feather waving limb swaying breeze breathing
Truly we are one for we are air

All we see is right inside of us
By the smoky flame the cedar comforts
Sun shining ember flaring lightning striking
Truly we are one for we are fire

Hive-Open-Mic-79d.png


Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-79b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 79 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Mirrors on Earth.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy? Join in.
🌟

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency