🎵 “Bright For You” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 81

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


Cabe-Lindsay-Hive-Open-Mic-81.jpg

This week's Hive Open Mic theme is: "Romantic Nostalgia." My some miracle, these exact words summarize a pivotal moment I'm experiencing in life right now. Naturally, this feels like the perfect occasion to reflect and process what's happening.

A year ago, I separated from the mother of my children. Since then, I've continued to play my "rad daddy" role, while also relearning who I am as an individual, a lover, and a brother to all. Mostly, though, my study is focused on my sovereignty - learning who I Am as a child of the divine.

Reclaiming my sovereignty means accepting myself exactly as I am. It's a practice in exercising willpower, taking responsibility for creating a world where I wish to be. I like to say I am bringing heaven here on earth. Truthfully, I feel heaven is me always, even when I seem to be sidetracked by my earthwalk.

A scene from the open mic stage at Solarpunk Summit, last weekend.

Fire and folks enjoying the Texas Hill Country, just outside of Austin.

Recently, I started calling romance into my life. Sometimes, it is a dizzying feeling of overwhelm, with all kinds of stimulation and energy. On another extreme, it is a lonesome feeling of desire, with the sticky feeling of lack. Thankfully, I see these patterns and I release them.

Letting go what needs to go, and letting come what needs to come, I am calling in a companion. I freed myself from all attachments. I created a space for a toothbrush. And I set some intentions:

I am thankful for the simplicity in our connection. I see a slow relationship that begins honey-sweet and builds into a savory satisfaction... I see myself mirrored in her, seeing shadow selves and higher selves, tending toward a middle ground that is safe and sound... We walk in beauty. We help each other to rise and shine in life... I am filled with wonder, awe, and inspiration, being with her. When we give ourselves the gift of our presence, we find the divine.

Last weekend, I attended a camping festival called SolarPunk Summit, treating myself to a ticket as an early birthday present. Setting up my tent, I carved out a heart-shaped welcoming stone in the dirt, with flowers blooming in the center. I situated myself beside a river, with blue dragonflies and green geckos.

Being friends with the event founder, I was scheduled to host an open mic event on the first evening. Fun! Before that, though, I watched a bunch of local musicians perform short sets of songs, some of which made me sway and dance. Somehow, in the dance, I ended up with a cutie in my arms, holding her up like a baby.

Aya-Illustrations-La-Pace.jpg

Hours went by, connecting with this gal. And then I hosted the open mic event at midnight... To make a long story short, I fell in love. "Flew" in love feels more accurate. I made a card for her, and the artwork above sums it up. Inside the card, I wrote a note:

Seeing the dragonflies flock to you, the dazzling butterfly, the sun, moon and firelight gracing your face... ah, my eyes are happy. I am grateful for your carefully chosen words, your fabulous lips, your rad dance moves, your sweetness... and your recognition of these similar gifts in me. Thank you. You expand my perception of sovereignty. And divinity! Wherever we go from here, know that I am holding your radiance near and dear to my heart.

Even in my own words, it seems I knew I would have to let her go. We made agreements to fly solo on the final day. Still I showed up and glowed like a star, even with a tender heart. Hours after releasing love, I found the infinite supply of it. I found myself as a gold star, with a crying rainbow on my face, dancing on another level from ever before. I shined. My heart burned bright.

And then I wrote this song.


Bright For You

A new song w/ acoustic guitar + electronic soundscape

Wherever you are
However far
We share the same stars

My heart burns bright for you

The dragonflies adore you
The butterflies hover above you
The fireflies come to comfort you
And even I fly in love

My heart burns bright for you

My every breath shares your air
My misty rain once was your ocean
My fire inside lives in you too
Mycelium under us

My heart burns bright for you

Hive-Open-Mic-81d.png


Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-81b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 81 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Romantic Nostalgia.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy? Join in.
🌟


About Me

I am a star child, ultra-fly and down-to-earth. I am an artist, making films with Arise and songs with Cosmic Butterflies. My latest launch is a Rock album called "Colors Flying," to be released this Summer. My greatest achievement is my role as a rad daddy to three incredible kids.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency