Recording songs - "Breaking up is hard to do"

I'm on a mission..

I have been playing the guitar for many years and have, since I've been in the UK, taken part in Open Mics in many of the lovely pubs in the area, been busking and jamming and the like.
But one thing I've never considered, is recording what I'm doing!

One issue I have, is asking people to take a recording when I'm performing in a pub. Strangely am I always too embarrassed to ask!
But the fact of the matter is, that's it is excellent feedback and very necessary for anyone to hear and see oneself to notice what comes across, or sometimes doesn't!
To improve you need to be your own audience and try to listen from a distance, which isn't always easy and needs practicing as well as the music itself. I suspect, this isn't just true for music, but for many other areas too.

Anyhow, lockdown has opened new doors for the hobby, and, being stuck at home, my friends from the Arlesey Jammers, like so many others, started using the Internet more to connect.

Mostly via Zoom and led by @purplesinger, we either played live or created material for us all to watch or listen to together.
Regulars of those meetings were @steevc, @daniellemurray and @todayslight.

My own recordings of those days form the base for my new project:
Improving on the sound quality of present ones and recording new ones as I go along. I am having to get my head around DAW software, which is interesting; I also want to add video where possible.

"Breaking up is hard to do" by Carole King
I like loads of different genres, but the golden oldies are never to be missed, and this is one of them! It's a regular one of the songs I play live.

The recording you hear is my own backing track with everything done by myself, instruments and voices, including harmonies, having learned a bit about that subject lately.
It might not be the last version, as I always find room for improvement! 😉

The video was taken in our garden, which we finally managed to tidy up, now that the sun's been out for a few days!
Due to the typical town noise surroundings, cars, people and so forth, I am actually singing along to my own track, but it's all still ME.

So, here's the song that got a spring clean!
Hope, you like it and thanks for listening!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency