Hive Open Mic #133 - Hunter (Dido)


This weeks theme "Opportunity" could be taken into many, many areas of life.

I have always had a fable for the UK and when I met a whole bunch of English speaking ex-pats in Hamburg, my opportunity arose to take the massive step to leave for something else.
I've now been here for over 20 years and have not regretted that decision...yet... 😄

Coming over also helped to open up a door into a different career, which wouldn't have happened if I stayed in Hamburg. It all seemed too daunting and risky at the time.

My choice of song, however, is about yet another area:
Relationships have their ups and downs, are full of compromises and require work to keep going.
This song by Dido is about the desire to get out again, to experience the world when a current relationship isn't working anymore and cannot seem to be revived.

Getting out, meeting new people and maybe find a new love along the way is not for everybody, some prefer to stay put, especially if there are kids involved, and that is totally fine.

But there are others who feel life's an adventure and should not be wasted; those are more likely to take the opportunity to try new things, and so they should!

Hope, you like this song, although some might not have heard it before, but it's another one I've had on my "to revisit" list. The capo is usually further up the fretboard, but guess what, I've got another cough going.. lol

Anyway, as always, thanks for listening! 😀

Lyrics

With one light on in one room
I know you're up when I get home
With one small step upon the stair
I know your look when I get there

If you were a king up there on your throne
would you be wise enough to let me go
for this queen you think you own

Wants to be a hunter again
wants to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go

The unread book and painful look
the tv's on, the sound is down
One long pause
then you begin
oh look what the cat's brought in

If you were a king up there on your throne
would you be wise enough to let me go
for this queen you think you own

Wants to be a hunter again
wants to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go
let me leave

For the crown you've placed upon my head feels too heavy now
and I don't know what to say to you but I'll smile anyhow
and all the time I'm thinking, thinking

I want to be a hunter again
want to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go.
Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency