Hive Open Mic #113 - Clair (Gilbert O'Sullivan)

My entry for this week's subject "Infantil" is the simply beautiful song "Clair" by Gilbert O'Sullivan from 1972, in which the protagonist is babysitting a girl and expressing his truly innocent affection for her.

I was a child myself when this came out, and remember the tune with fond memories indeed, although I had no idea what it was about; my English lessons only started years later when I was ten.

My partner actually suggested this one apart from a couple of others; but when I started listening to it after all these years, and this time actually understanding the lyrics, I knew this was the one! 😍

I love the last verse particularly: "Go back to bed", "No, you can't have a drink"... The fun moments of babysitting! I remember them well, when I used to babysit my nephews and nieces. I do hope, people still babysit today, even that everyone seems to be under immediate suspicion... I am using the cleaned up version of the lyrics, but then, I'm not an uncle anyhow.. 😄

Anyway, I hope, you like this one!
I sure liked learning it and it will be one of my firm favourites in future, once I've learned the words off by heart that is..

Thanks so much for listening!

The Lyrics

Clair, the moment I met you, I swear
I felt as if something, somewhere
Had happened to me, which I couldn't see
And then, the moment I met you, again
I knew in my heart, that we were friends
It had to be so, it couldn't be no

But try as hard as I might do, I don't know why
You get to me in a way, I can't describe
Words mean so little, when you look up and smile
I don't care what people say
To me you're more than a child
Oh, Clair, Clair

Clair, if ever a moment so rare
Was captured for all to compare
That moment is you, in all that you do
But why in spite of our age difference do I cry
Each time I leave you, I feel I could die
Nothing means more to me, than hearing you say
I'm going to marry you, will you marry me, oh, hooray!
Oh, Clair, Clair

Clair, I've told you before, don't you dare
Get back into bed, can't you see that it's late
No you can't have a drink, oh all right then
But wait just a minute
While I, in an effort to babysit
Catch up on my breath, what there is left of it
You can be murder, at this hour of the day
But in the morning the sun, will see my lifetime away
Oh, Clair, Clair
Oh, Clair

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency