Hive Open Mic #112 - Blackbird (Paul McCartney)

Blackbird

This song by The Beatles, or Paul McCartney rather, is one of my favourite. One of my friends used to play it for me and I would sing along. During lockdown I started learning it myself for our online gatherings, but haven't played it since. It has been on my list of songs to revisit, and, hey, presto, this week's theme is just the ticket!
Watch the master himself explaining what inspired the song, well, it's at least one of the inspirations he mentioned in the past 😉: Paul McCartney Explains Blackbird

English Gardens

So, it looks as if the song has nothing to do with what I personally associate it with it. In the original recording you can hear a blackbird singing, so for me that relates to English Gardens, the big and the small. We used to be members of English Heritage and would spend time in their gardens where they would sometimes have live music, mostly classical; always a feast!

When it comes to the small gardens, then there are obviously the classic cottage gardens, that many people are very proud of and rightly so! Type "typical english cottage garden" into your favourite search engine and you should get some lovely examples in the image section.

Cottage gardens provide a lifeline for a lot of wildlife, and it's a shame, that, just as the traditional pub is struggling to survive, so are cottage gardens when many people have no flowers in their gardens at all, just a lawn, or worse yet, a plastic one! Green all year round, and no mowing required.. 😩

A Final Word

Interestingly do I seem to pick rather quite songs for the weekly themes right now.. I'm not normally known for that, I tend to usually pick tunes that are a little noisier, but it's very nice to explore the softer ones for a change!
Anyway, I hope, you like this one.. Thanks for watching! 🙂

Lyrics

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free

Blackbird fly, blackbird fly
Into the light of a dark black night
Blackbird fly, blackbird fly
Into the light of a dark black night

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency