Hive Open Mic Week 53: Ambulance Blues (Original Song)


This week’s theme was ‘Toys’, and I wasn’t really inspired to write a song about toys, but then I started thinking. I had just the song. I realized I had written one of my original songs on a toy guitar. It’s called ‘Ambulance Blues’. I am posting this video years after writing it—on the same guitar I wrote it on; my son’s toy guitar. Since then I have made this song one of my staples of what I play and I’ve recorded it a few times. I’m also posting the original video of me playing the song right after I wrote it on the same toy guitar. I’m also including a version I created this year with full production (well as close as my broke a$ can get— Garage Band. Lol). I thought it would be cool for you to see the evolution of a song. The song is still evolving. But its roots of being created on a toy fall in line with this week’s theme. I hope you enjoy it.

Lyrics:

Verse 1
Holding me up while Breaking Me Down will never be okay
I don't know why I'm waiting around when you're never going to stay
Searching for Clues with ambulance Blues is getting in the way
And I don't know why I'm waiting to die when Heaven's Blown Away

Chorus
But I've been overdue
And it's not about you
And I've been used to it
But you're not used to it
And you've been starry-eyed
And I've been mystified
But now I'm not long for this world
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go

Verse 2
Painting me black won't stop the attack it's moved on to my brain
Sorting through lies won't immobilize this cancer or this pain
You need to go I'm making it so you're not the one to blame
Holding you down won't turn this around so get out of the rain

Chorus
But I've been overdue
And it's not about you
And I've been used to it
But you're not used to it
And you've been starry-eyed
And I've been mystified
But now I'm not long for this world
So just take me and let me go

Bridge
Deaths knocking at the door
So what you waiting for
Do you want to see me beg you not to go
I can see it in your eyes and I know it's on your mind
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go

Original video:

2021 version:


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency