MY SCHOOL EXPERIENCE: MY FIRST DAY AT HIGH SCHOOL AND THE SAVIOUR I MET


Three months ago I had a reunion with the saviour I met on my first day in high school 13 years ago. I had always kept in touch with him and looked forward to meeting him in person again so I didn't hesitate when I received a meet-up message from him. I was elated to see him and we had inspiring conversations peppered with nostalgic memories in a cozy place. He really commended my ability to have had kept the connection these years.

Screenshot_20210923-203908_1.jpg
Reunion with a senior friend


He was my senior in school then and is currently doing well. Our career choices are different now and as we conversed, we reached a point where he talked about connecting me to someone else (in same career as mine) since he may not offer me so much career wise. I gratefully accepted the offer and at this point, I made him know why I highly esteemed him. For the past 13 years, he never knew he was the saviour I met on my first day in school. This was the apogee of our reunion as my narration of that school experience made his evening that day (in his words). It is a true life story of how a man's nature can establish a kindful impression that will turn out to influence many others.

Founding Principal of GCU, Mr Villiers Barcham Vaughan Powell, a Briton of Oxonian and Australian ancestry.


Throwback to 13 years, on a Sunday in September 2008 I resumed at Government College Ughelli (my great alma mater) to begin the Senior Secondary School (SSS) class 1 and complete my high School education. This was a special experience for me as it would be my first time to attend an all-boys school and a boarding school as well. I was excited as my parents drop me off at my hostel (Forcados house). I received a warm welcome and was posted to dormitory A. I got some buddies and a school pop almost immediately. Naively, I was yet to know the kinda rules in a boarding setting especially in one of the dreaded hostels, if not the most – Forcados house.

images (12).jpeg

Students reading with a kerosene lantern


Later that evening, we assembled in the prep hall in the hostel to study. The kerosene lantern was in vogue and was the main source of light for reading (as power supply was poor as at then). As a fresh student, I had all my materials still in their best conditions - the kerosene lantern inclusive. I studied together with other students I was yet to know on a long reading bench and table. I placed my lantern very close to my book so I could get the best illumination possible – you will agree with me the kerosene lantern is not a bright source of light. The student opposite me kept shifting my lantern to a central position and it seemed we were playing a to-and-fro game with the lantern. He warned me not to touch the lantern but that sounded weird to me. For goodness sake, this was my lantern! As I insisted on what was actually my right, he slapped me. He gave me a hot dirty slap slap. I broke down in tears and my emotion was at its nadir. At this point, my saviour (Snr. Mine) came in. I came to later know he was the Assistant School Prefect (ASP). He took me out of the prep hall, he consoled me and he gave me a kind of orientation. This was very needed for me to survive and thrive in the “emblem the shark” hostel and in school generally. This singular act turned an awful experience into a learning and decisive one. I experienced two different natures and the one which resonated with humanity better left a lasting impression. I decided from the whole experience to be kind instead. This is now part of my nature. Other students and people I have come acrossed since then have been influenced positively by this nature reinforced by the ‘simple' act of one good man. This experience stands out for me amongst many others.



I can still recall my early days in GCU when we had to eat our meals within a set time and ‘one’ senior was at the dining hall entrance with a leather (pomo) belt waiting for the last man standing. The weekends were really memorable days. Friday nights were like hangout nights when friends play on their mattresses brought out into the field with the moon glimmering the appropriate illumination while prospective school fathers ‘spinned’ their school sons. On Saturdays we went for team fruit-hunting in the teachers quarters. Some of us will block the pawpaw and cashew fruits we obtained permission for while a few others will use their feet to twist-steal the pineapple fruit from its stalk. I was the small boy with the big bag then, my back was carriage medium. The January 9th Founder’s day celebration/award-giving/ancient mariners reunion (a student in/from this college is called a sailor/mariner); the inter-house sports; the interschool competitions; the moments in various school clubs (JETS club, Debaters club etc); the Saturday sanitation/hostel inspection with all it’s fuss, loss and gain; the funny excuses to sign the exeat card; the funny and dreadful fairytales... Mhen, the list is endless.

images (13).jpeg

Memories


The good and bad; the happy and sad; the dignifying and humiliating; the strong and weak; the rich and poor moments and many happenings in between made up my school experiences. I agree to the fact that words cannot express memories adequately. My principal and teachers, fellow students and hostel mates, Scripture Union (SU) fellowships, morning assembly and chapel moments, the labour (grass-cutting) periods, the prep times, the dining hall moments and every other moment I cannot pen down here made my High School days a memorable one. I think it has been my most memorable season in life. Memories don’t die so don’t be surprised when people outburst spontaneously with some emotions - it isn’t always madness. Thanks to @hivenaija @belemo for this opportunity to try to pen down memory.

Attached below are some visual memories of my highly impactful high school. Enjoy! (P.S: Pictures collected from the internet are referenced, other pictures are my personal images)


images (15).jpeg

*GCU entrance gate*


images (14).jpeg
*A section of GCU*


IMG-20200522-WA0003.jpg

A part of my class with our Biology teacher after the WAEC (West Africa Examination Council) Exams which marked our graduation from the school.


IMG-20200522-WA0001.jpg

Some of my classmates in our last inter-house sports before graduation in January 2011.


IMG-20210110-WA0025_2.jpg

The mighty exeat card. What joy😊 when get it signed.


IMG-20201228-WA0006.jpg

Some of us in our first reunion in December 2020...boys now men.


IMG-20201228-WA0081.jpg

Photo of pioneer excos of my GCUOBA (Government College Ughelli Old Boys Association) set 05-11.


IMG-20201228-WA0095.jpg

3 of 4 of the excos in the reunion in 2020. I am privileged and happy to be a part of an effective exco team.


IMG-20201227-WA0010.jpg

A cross-section of the mariners at the reunion. If you look well, almost everyone was smiling. It was such a beautiful moment.


IMG-20201228-WA0071.jpg

yummy yummy time!😋


IMG-20201228-WA0034_1.jpg

A backdrop of GCUOBA set 06-12 (our immediate juniors) reunion in December 2020 also. We've got palpable vibes.


IMG-20210110-WA0003.jpg

We never miss a moment to reunite and play. En route to a fellow mariner's dad burial. His dad was an ancient mariner (set of the 1950's).


IMG-20210110-WA0006_1.jpg

The brotherhood!


IMG-20210110-WA0009.jpg

During our classmates dad burial, we met the GCUOBA fellow ancient mariners of his time. They were very happy to see a younger generation keeping the bond of brotherhood.


Hope you enjoyed the post. I am really happy for this opportunity to pen down some memories about my alma mater. I love my alma mater! ♥️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency