Hive Naija Weekly Prompt: What Makes You Happy?

joyful-afro-woman-raises-arms-tilts-head-dressed-casual-knitted-jumper-laughs-from-happiness-celebrates-victory-isolated-yellow.jpg
Freepik.com

For the longest time, I didn’t know what happiness meant, People would always say that happiness was a choice and I had to choose it but no one ever explained how that choice could be made so I spent a long time being unhappy and faking it till I made it which went on for a long time.

A friend of mine recently asked me this same question “what makes you happy” and I immediately said money but she being all-wise said that money wasn’t what made me happy but just a means to happiness and after she said that, it opened my eyes and I realized where my happiness came from.

So what truly makes me happy if you may ask? Well, the answer is very clear and very simple, the thing that makes me happy is what we consider the little things, I don’t know if that makes sense to you so I will elaborate.

While thinking about what to write as the answer to this question I realized that my happiness didn’t come from people, relationships, or even material things, instead it came from the simplest things in life.

My happiness came from my favorite songs, it came from rainfall on a hot day, it came from Cristiano Ronaldo scoring a goal and the cheers from the football stadium, it came from the random “I loves you” and the credit alerts, it also sometimes came from my favorite food, or after I have watched a good movie, and finally It came from my friends and family.

When I finally realized that happiness could spring forth from every little thing in life, I truly experienced it just by existing and I finally became happy.


Thank you for opening this box of passion

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency