Another Monday, another sit-at-home! The flames are getting higher in Anambra, Nigeria.

May I ask? Whose right is it to declare sit-at-home within any region?

IMG_20201216_143438_576~2.jpg

Okay, let's forget that I asked. Just know that all businesses in the South-Eastern part of Nigeria are said to be on lockdown today, being 9th August. From what I know, this restriction of movement will continue every Monday until the release of Nnamdi Kanu, the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB).

To start on a good note, you can read about Biafra and what they stand for on Wikipedia.

Done reading? Okay.

Everyone goes on to pick sides between Nigeria or Biafra, but this post isn't for any side picking or support whatsoever. I'm more concerned about the effect of this said restriction on the life of citizens living in the affected area, the South-Eastern part of Nigeria.

Out of all the 36 states in Nigeria, five states fall under the South East. They include Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi and Imo State.

I live in Anambra State and I know that most of the people in this area survive on their hustle (trade). These businesses are meant to run daily. Some are high valued businesses while others are petty businesses.

IMG_20210802_103923_521.jpg
Almost everyone hustles under the sun and in the rain just to put food on their table.

Knowing Anambra for what it is, most of these people didn't open their shops today. A lot of people stayed behind closed doors while they get up-to-date gist of the latest trend through local digital media houses. I was not an exception to this. I had to do a little extra when I went shopping yesterday so that I wouldn't have to make any movement today. Even while I was in the market, the traders couldn't hide their fear due to what is expected to happen today.

As expected, staying back at home turned out to be a good choice.

When we finished praying this morning, my Mum was hell-bent on making a trip from Anambra State to Enugu State. You do remember that both Enugu and Anambra are part of the South Eastern state. Eh? How on Earth is she supposed to make that trip without giving all of us the highest scare of our life? Hmmm.

I don't blame Mumcy. It is a very important trip (you will get the details later), but risking her neck because of this was not worth it. We successfully talked her out of the idea. Of course, tomorrow is another day for another trip. No big deal.

As I'm writing this, I've already seen updates with very disturbing pictures about vehicles that were set on fire in Anambra, Abia and still counting. Some passengers couldn't escape while those that escaped from their vehicles were confirmed to have sustained injuries.

Just so you know, I also did a little leg walk to a major road which is 4 minutes away from my apartment.

Yeah, I did. Don't ask why. This is how busy the road turned out to be.

IMG_20210808_153823_935~3.jpg
Ooppss... Not so busy after all.

The next picture was taken yesterday in the same spot on my way to Obosi.
IMG_20210808_155423_857.jpg
You can only imagine how dull this day was in the commercial city of Onitsha and the South Eastern part of Nigeria as a whole.

Here is a little twist. Let's say, power tussle or just a political statement.

The government of these states came out to openly ask residents to ignore the sit-at-home order made by these groups of extremists.

Anambra State Government made it clear that anyone that misses work today because of this wild action of IPOB would have to kiss their August salary goodbye.

How is that for a decisive call to action from the state government?

I see it as a political stance from the state government. It's their way of making sure that they won't be tagged as conspirators. There is no way for them to get the right figure of those that were absent or present. Even if they get that figure, with an election scheduled to hold in 3 months, they would never do anything that will put them in the bad book of public servants (Source = my intuition)

HiveDivider_sm.png

Well well well, can you smell the gasoline? Anambra is hell. Joking apart!

I'm already in this danger zone. It's a bloody blood bath and I don't see it stopping. The flames are getting higher. Just so you know, I like to play with fire in the name of adventure. But I don't want to raise kids in fire. Can't wait for all my plans to come to pass.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Co.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency