A now sad old place to kneel and prey. Lihula. Estonia June 2021

I stopped on my travels
a village
Lihula. population circa 1600, and falling.
I needed Red Bull, my wings were flagging, drooping, in need of an uplift.
I found a petrol station
i found a few bits and pieces that interested me

This is one of them

SPG_7124.jpeg

St.Alexander Nevsky orthodox Church.

SPG_7118.jpeg

Consecrated in the 1890's and in use until the 1960's, that's all, I know.

SPG_7119.jpeg

Now being left to crumble, or stand tall and proud against the elements, dependant upon whether your glass is half full or half empty.

Lihula really has nothing to offer prospective property developers, and the perimiter Harras fencing itself is lying forlorn bent and twisted, doing nothing. Said fencing will not last as long as this sturdy piece of wrought ironwork; flakes of gold paint still visible.

SPG_7117.jpeg

SPG_7125.jpeg

So tramping through the nettles, knowing in my heart of hearts it would be devoid of treasure, i still needed to satisfy my curiosity.

SPG_7123.jpeg

SPG_7121.jpeg

SPG_7120.jpeg

SPG_7122.jpeg

Remnants of plaster coated walls, traces of vivid blue paint, this must have been a splendid place for the believers to visit.

I'm not a believer, but yes to me a splendid place to visit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency