Dilapidated Vologda. Lower Suburb-1

For documentary photography of the dilapidated housing in Vologda, it is as if for the second time I go through all the places that I passed at the beginning of the year. It feels like I’m going over the material I’ve covered in order to consolidate it. It is possible that this is so.

It is bad that many dilapidated houses are located pointwise, often in the middle of a block with high-rise buildings.

This time I moved almost to the very center of Lower Suburb on Pervomayskaya Street.

I noticed these houses a year and a half ago, but I came to capture them only now.

I have already photographed in this courtyard, only these were other daytime scenes that do not reflect the dilapidated housing as a fact.

I like this place because it is located on one of my favorite streets in the city.

And I don’t like the fact that it’s impossible to go through the courtyards to a parallel street because of the barriers near the modern elite apartment complex.

I have not seen drying clothes on the street for a long time.

These houses are also of a communal type with a more non-standard layout.

Some wooden houses border in appearance between a barrack and a merchant's mansion.

You always need to walk around the back of the house to make sure of its layout features.

This courtyard is clearly distinguished by its antiquity in appearance, and according to the cadastre, the year of construction is 1928.

In general, I would divide the dilapidated housing by frequency.

The difference lies not only in the year of construction, era, but in the environment, atmosphere.

There is aesthetic dilapidated housing - these are old wooden merchant buildings that are about to fall apart and disappear.

And there are classic barracks, in the yards of which there are sheds, garages, piled boards...in general, they do not reach aesthetics.

And it’s hard to shoot two such different types of dilapidated houses in one day, as if you were jumping from frequency to frequency.

This is because the result depends on the perception of the environment.

And the perception is just different...this can be called different frequencies.

To be continued...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency