Burning MEME

The @buynburn project transfers the HIVE and HBD earned from posts to #hive-engine where it uses the funds to buy and burn underperforming HE coins.

For the project to work, I need to occasionally write posts. For today's post I thought I would look at the #meme tribe which features the MEME token on Hive-Engine. After publishing, I will burn some MEME.

The token currently trades for 0.00008300 HIVE. Yep, that is my bid for 88 MEME on the buy line.

HIVE-Engine tells me that the token supply is 62,685,027. The tokens trade for $0.00002 giving a market capitalization of $1,253. The richlist shows a somewhat top-heavy distribution of coins. Many of the top coin holders are utility accounts.

My personal account @yintercept is in position 36 on the staked list. It has 63K MEME valued at $1.76. I guess I am a MEME orca.

What is a Meme?

An internet meme is an image that conveys a provocative meaning that people feel compelled to share on social media. Memes are extremely popular on free platforms like facebook, tumblr and twitter where people aggressively exchange memes with little regard for copyright.

The HIVE platform prefers original content. Since HIVE rewards users with tokens, the platform aggressively defends against plagiarism.

An account that shares memes on HIVE is likely to get downvoted.

While HIVE is not a good platform for sharing MEME. I think that it is a great place for generating memes. The platform allows people to monetize memes.

Again, HIVE protects copyright; So, it is not a good place to create memes from copyrighted materials. If I tried to create a MEME from a Bart Simpson cartoon, I would be inviolation of Homer Simpson's copyright on the image. That would be a no-go on HIVE.

I've been accumulating MEME as I think that there is great potential in creating MEMEs with AI.

Some courts hold that, since AI images are generated by a computer, the images do not have the same standing as images crafted by people.

One can create an image by sending a short prompt to an AI generator. The user will receive an original image in response. Quirky prompts lead to quirky images.

I think that the ideal workflow is to create the MEME with an AI. Publish the MEME on HIVE. One can then share on social media to earn a #POSH reward.

MEME NFTs

The MEME tribe offers the hiveme.me web site. The site includes a section for minting and selling NFTs. It costs 600 MEME to mint an NFT and 100 MEME for each edition. I've minted several NFTs. I like to produce 4 editions. I keep one in my collection and sell the other four at cost (280 MEME).

A dedicated AI Meme artists could sell the meme for more.

To provide an example of this workflow, I went to NightCafe to produce an image of a burning MEME.

Something went wrong. Instead of a "burning meme" I ended up with a "burning mime."

Woe is me. I now feel aweful. Just look at the poor creature below. The mime is stuck in a burning box. Because he is dedicated to his craft he cannot cry out in pain. The poor mime is stuck jesticulating wildly in his box.

I considered creating an NFT from the image. But the truth is that I feel horrible about the picture. After all, a mime is a terrible thing to waste.

mime.jpg

Posted using MemeHive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency