Filming BMW’s at Silverstone (Part 2)

A little continuation about my second day of filming at Siverstone Race track towards the end of this week.

Part 1 can be found here 👍🏻
Cheers for those who commented and engaged on the last post - it seemed to go down really well!

The second day of filming was relatively relaxed.

We had a good nights sleep after a very long, hot and tiring day.
We shot the majority of the important stuff on day one, so the next day was mainly about capturing the more sedate indoor learning content as well as anything we might have missed on the first day.

img_1668.png

There were about 30 BMW’s lined up ready to be driven on the main track.
We were based out of the pit lanes and experienced the cars flying by at full speed. Quite the racket!

We were very lucky with the weather on day 1.

Beautiful sunshine, blue skies - I got sunburnt, as did everyone else 😆

However the second day started off overcast with occasional showers and wind. Not ideal driving or filming conditions really.

My focus was recapturing external GoPro shots on the M3’s and M4’s slamming around the course.
It was brilliant. Lots of brake slamming, emergency stops, corner skids/handling exercises/doughnuts!

img_1680.png

I must admit though, I really feared for the safety of my GoPro clamped on to the side of the car 😬
I just hoped that every time the car came back after a lap that it was still there.

img_1684.png

If it did come off during a lap, not only would I have lost a camera but also the previous footage from the day captured to the card.
The camera was positioned all over the cars - front, side, back - so I was a bit stressed out waiting to see it arrive back in one piece after I had re-positioned it!

To the end of the day, the instructor called Steve asked if I wanted a ride in the car as he was going to do the doughnuts for the GoPro shots...
I immediately said yes. (obviously)

THIS is the car I was in sliding sideways 😳

img_1681.png

And THIS was my face (that I filmed on my phone) which it was happening 😂

img_1683.png

Needless to say I loved it.
A fantastic experience in a powerful car with a professional driver, at Silverstone. Ace. ✅

I have a new found respect for drivers and cars.
It’s not really my world of interest - but I can now fully appreciate the power and dexterity of these machines.

Would I buy one? No. (I can’t afford one)
Would I take a free ride in one again? Yes.

It was a great team who made everything work seamlessly, and although we were a small part of what was going on we felt appreciated and were welcomed in beautifully.

img_1550.heic

Video production is a really versatile profession - and can lead the way and open doors to people and experiences that you might never usually get access to.

I didn’t shoot on my BIG camera much on the second day - mainly vox pops/interviews with the participants as they gave feedback about the cars/course/experiences.

But I did enjoy having fun getting creative with the GoPro :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency