Cinema lens envy

I’ve been shooting today with this goddam sexy lens 🤤

img_2271.heic

It’s a 14mm Samyang Xeen cinema lens.

Lovely and wide angled.

It’s part of a set of 5 lenses I’m using which belongs to my pal Tom from Summit Visions - video production.
This is his job I’m shooting on, and I’m second camera op for the day!

His full set of primes are 14, 24, 35, 50 and 85mm.

I’ve never shot with these kind of cinema primes before, and they’re beautiful.
Heavy, well made, all even in size and weight with a super smooth focus ring 😍

The images they shoot are gorgeous. Quite different to the usual L series Canon photography lenses I use day-to-day for my video work.

We were shooting on the GH5S and the Ronin-2 with follow focus.

img_2267.heic

It’s a great system meaning I can manually focus using my index finger on a controller wheel on the Ronin-2 handle.
Tom is well kitted out for the jobs he does.

My mind is on a massive kit overhaul in the coming 6 months... and I’ve now got my eye on some lenses like these.

BUT things can get expensive very quickly in this ind- but it’s worth it when you can make you’re money back pretty quickly through working with them.

I guess I need to consider kit as an investment more than anything else..

What are the nicest set of lenses you’ve filmed with?

(I reckon @distantsignal has lots of experience in this world of cinema lenses!)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency