An unexpected view of London

Recently on a corporate camera-op job in London I visited some offices in Victoria Embankment.

We shot in and around the building, then we took the lift to the top floor. And through the glass walls of the building, we saw THIS panoramic view.. which grew more and more over the rooftops as the elevator reached the top floor.

img_0775.heic

It was very cool indeed, an real unexpected perk of the day I must admit.
It wasn’t even part of the shot list to get skyline style shots of London. It was totally incidental.

That morning

I left ‘the North’ via train at 6.30am. I had my wake up alarm for 4.30am 😵
It’s been a while since I’ve been up that early for work.

We got the train easy enough and hit London at a tidy 9.00am.

We started filming around 11am on this beast of a camera.
The RED Komodo (not my camera!) on the Ronin-S gimbal.

img_0752.heic

We monitored the image via the iPhone app, which is really really cool. You can control EVERYTHING about the camera via the app.
Shutter angle, iso, aperture, clip name, white balance etc

Here’s a screenshot of the app, when the camera was pointed my way. It gives you an idea of how intricate the level of control really is over WiFi. Great UI!

img_0764.png

We got everything shot by around 3pm. We were getting ‘back to work’ style clips of people following social distancing rules and mask wearing etc. Fairly straightforward stuff that looked pretty cool.
I was shooting for Tom and Lucy who are awesome. I like working with them. Everything is well planned and enjoyable.

Headed home

We got the 6.30pm train home.
It was a very long day - not particularly in terms of work, but more the amount of time spent doing stuff like travelling and being attentive.

img_0745.heic

I slept VERY well that night.
Great to be back working at locations other than what’s in my back yard! London - I’ll be back!

Cheers for reading, @ashtv.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency