Super Tropical smoothie Jackfruit, mango banana

DSC_3729.jpg

When I think of smoothies, I think of a healthy breakfast thing. A blended nutritional all in one meal in a glass.

I love a smoothie for dessert as well.

For my smoothie entry to this weeks hive top chef I am making a super tropical smoothie using frozen jackfruit, mango and banana smoothie. I happen to have jackfruit that was given to me a while back. It is the sweet kind. I had too much so I froze it.

Jackfruit is often used green to make mock meats for plantbased foods but it is a completely different thing when it's sweet and ripe. As a Canadian It isn't easy to get fresh. Fortunately I had a former kitchen manager who has Vietnamese parents who buy in bulk at the Asian store. They didn't want it anymore, gave it to their son, who gave me a big portion of it.

When smoothies came up, I automatically thought frozen jackfruit. It wouldn't be super fun on it's own so I added mango and banana for a super tropical thing.

I used around two cups frozen jackfruit, 1 cup mango, 1 banana, 2 cups coconut water, 2 cups plant milk, 4 dates, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, and the juice of one lime.

DSC_3690.jpg

I find it relaxing to have before bed as opposed to having for breakfast like what most people do. When I have a breakfast smoothie I prefer a green smoothie.

DSC_3721.jpg

If you want to turn this into a cocktail just add what spirits you desire. I stop with the spirits. I am having straight up fruits.

DSC_3707.jpg

Thanks for dropping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency