More than a friendly match to evaluate team's depth - (Arsenal vs Chelsea).

The London derby on last night was really a hit and some heat! I wasn't expecting what I saw on the lineups at all. It was just a mere friendly and I expected both teams to play easy with mostly the known and unknown youngsters but then, it went like a battle of a big and long time beef between the two sides.

Aside from the fact that both teams decided to make the match a big show, I really enjoyed every bit of the highlights, the match came up as a true competition and I wouldn't take it as a win for Chelsea though. After evaluating the highlights well, I personally believed, if there had been a goal line technology for that match, it would have been a 2-2 draw which is a perfect result because, both sides played to the fullness.


img_0.7190975435437376.jpg

The attacking force from both teams was so catching and that really made the match less boring for me. I got to see Pepe to have improved so much in his game play and not just him. From both sides, many players have now improved so much, maybe the performance was like that due to the fact that it's a derby and it's a usual rivalry thing but I think if the same energy slides into the league, both teams could level up well.

Arsenal with two signings (Lokonga and Tavares) are building up a fine team but I still think they need more experienced players, though the experienced players they have, showed the ups in their performance yesterday. Having Pepe, Aubameyang, and Lacazette upfront really brought them fine attacking play and they were also quite unlucky with some few shots on target and by the goal pole.


img_0.3199618182574195.jpg

Another player I enjoyed his performance was Hudson Odoi. This youngster has really and really improved. Right from the onset, he has always been this fine player with a bright future but then, he kept playing not that matured football and that doesn't work at all in the EPL. But now, with what I saw Odoi played last night, I can say he's getting to understand the English football so well and he's adapting fine.

Have you noticed Ziyech?

At times I wonder why Chelsea signed this player called Ziyech. He is a beautiful, wonderful, and talented footballer but why Chelsea? Chelsea doesn't really play the ball with long visions and here is a player who's quite a master when it comes to throwing the ball so long for a fine attack.


img_0.029283036128148237.jpg

I don't know, because I watched Ziyech yesterday and he played more with the intention of scoring than the intention of pushing the attacks real good. Why? Maybe he doesn't really trust the attackers available for him in the match, or scoring a goal would get him something more. And another factor could have been the position he featured in, I personally felt it would have been fair and beautiful enough if he was behind Hudson Odoi and then he would be able to throw more long balls from the midfield while Odoi takes full charge of the flank.

All still good, he played well even though he lost some close chances.


img_0.2842986752000971.jpg

Aside scoring the equalizing goal for Arsenal yesterday, Xhaka is more like the biggest experienced player Arsenal currently has and he equally has a similar profile with his country Switzerland also, and I think that makes him more of a priority for the team. He didn't start the match last night but having him come in after the first 40mins of the match was totally a beautiful move by Arteta.

Have you ever watched Chelsea pair Abraham and Batshuayi together in a match?

Well, Batshuayi has not really been with the Chelsea team for sometime now and for the fact that Chelsea has too many players sometimes makes it difficult for Coaches to decide on which player to trust more and to give time to prove himself, and I think that was what really affected both Abraham and Batshuayi.


img_0.605802141385244.jpg

These two players are actually not the best for Chelsea's reputation but then, I think it would still be fine to have them solidify the team's depth by having them on the bench from time to time. This is just my personal view and I don't really think that would work out if Chelsea eventually get to sign a new striker as they are currently on the pursuit of Erling Haaland.


It's just few days before EPL starts and I think both Chelsea and Arsenal are quite good to go, maybe not for the league title as it is but either of these two teams could lift a trophy this season. I think so!


All pictures are screenshots from the match highlights on YouTube.


Thanks For Reading My Report!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency