New Species in the Globalized World

A few years ago, when I lived in Belgium, I had a friend who was a devoted nature lover.

He wasn't exactly an entomologist, but his profession was also very close to nature, his house was full of thematic books, and I learned a lot from him about animals, nature, the environment, and so on.

I think that's when I started to look more closely and to 'enter' the micro/macro fairy world of insects, to always try to help them and save them from 'cruel death'.... to talk to them (don't laugh at my sensitivity 😀).

But I remember that from one moment on, every time I asked my friend what this strange insect I had just found in the garden was, he would answer: I have no idea. I see it for the first time.

And so it turned out that from that moment on, I began to find numerous insects that he, the nature lover, had not seen in his life. And I thought I hadn't seen them, because I lived there in a foreign country anyway.

It was strange.

However, this process (global), once initiated, continues to this day. Even today, although I live in my own country, I continue to look closely at the micro/macro magical world of insects, and imagine that I am aware of the insect species typical of this region, I am surprised by the new ones I see almost every day.

Like this one here:

IMG_20210731_142227.jpg

I know, now some of you will say he knows what it is. But the question is not whether anyone knows the name of this insect and whether he has seen it so far in his garden.

IMG_20210731_142027.jpg

The thing is that I've never seen it before.

IMG_20210731_141811.jpg

And that's a little scary.
Because I am not a small child, I have not lived a little in this world and I have seen a lot of things, a lot of insects. Here, in this part of my homeland, and in another part where I lived, and in a third part and in a fifth part. And in this European country, and in another, and in a third one and in a fifth one....

IMG_20210731_141640.jpg

We all know about the aggressive Asian lady beetles and the again imported shield bugs that have no natural enemies.

IMG_20210731_141723.jpg

And in today’s globalized way of life, we continue to import insects that have no natural enemies, viruses and ... what else?

IMG_20210731_141422.jpg


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency