The blue emperor dragonfly

The blue emperor (Anax imperator) is a large species of hawker dragonfly averaging 78 millimetres (3.1 in) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emperor_(dragonfly)
I spotted quite some dragonflies along the lake, but only a few of these Emperor ones.
I could clearly hear them flying away when I was walking closer because they make quite some noise. It makes me think of the sound of a small drone.
Luckily I finally found one that didn't fly away. And it was a big one too.

1.jpg

I started taking photos with the extension tubes between my camera body and 200 mm lens, but I wasn't even able to capture the dragonfly in total. That big was it.

2.jpg

I used the extension tubes to get in even closer to shoot some nice macro close-ups of it's head and body. On the next photo you can see the structure of the wings.

4.jpg

On this last photo I zoomed in on it's head. You can see the beautiful bright blue and green colours.

3.jpg


FriendlyMoose

I'm crypto and security enthousiast with a passion for photography that likes to play games.


image.png


image.png friendlymoose#5717
Follow me on Hive: @friendlymoose
Follow me on Noise.Cash: https://noise.cash/u/FriendlyMoose

Check out my NFT's of my photos on wax.atomichub.io


image.png
/created/photographycontests


image.png
/trending/leofinancestats


pob.png
/created/proofofbrainstats

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency