Straturday - Finally, and oldie but a goodie.


I reckon this came out at the peak of the hair metal soft rock period of the 80s when men looked like women and women looked... well normal.

I grew up in a country town and the closest I got to the Poison, Europe, Bon Jovi kind of hair was a mullet. I'm not sure if the mullet is an Australian term, but it's short at the front and a party in the back (long). I was a sexy young man, packet of smokes in the sleave, jeans, black t-shirt, runners. Now only 2 things have changed, I don't smoke and I'm not young. Now I'm a sexy old man... Well that doesn't sound right at all.

Back to the song. I always like this but never played it in any band I've ever been in. Too much keyboard to try and pull it off with guitars only. I tried a couple of years ago to learn this solo and I think I did, but not up to any kind of speed. There was a YouTube tutorial from Ben Eller Guitars (great YouTuber!). Trolling through some stems I saw it and thought I'd give it another try. It only had one guitar track that had all the guitars so taking that out meant that the solo was missing the harmony but I think it's not too bad by itself.

Hope you are all doing well! Enjoy, stay safe and catch you next time!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency