Thoughts from a Physiotherapy clinic

I broke my ancle five years ago. I was playing flag football with my coworkers on a Tuesday evening after work; back then I used to play a lot of matches every week but between the 12 hour work days and personal responsibilities, I didn't have time to exercise or go to the gym so obviously, I played well because of my natural ability but my body and muscles weren't ready to that kind of strain in my knees and ankles. It was bound to happen, sooner or later I was due to have a broken bone.


One of my coworkers didn't bring his playing snickers and i brought a second pair and i was the better player, so I let him borrow the good ones, that was a mistake.

I was going to make a touchdown reception but my foot got caught in the irregular and defective artificial grass and my ankle snapped. I broke the 4 ligaments and I had to go to the hospital - after spending the night at home and undermining the injury, thinking it was just a sprain - and then, 4 weeks resting, only getting up to go to the bathroom and back to the bed. After that, I spent a month going to physiotherapy and rehab, and after that I was supposed to go to the gym for 3 months before hitting the playing field again. But you know me, I started playing again after 2 months while hitting the gym and, good news, we actually won that tournament and I would have missed that if I had followed the doctor's orders.

I say that just because nothing else happened to me, but it could have gone a lot differently if I had suffered an injury because I didn't follow my doctor's recommendations.

Spending those 2 months between my bed, the bathroom and then the kitchen and the physio clinic showed me a lot about patience and appreciating being able to walk.

I made a promise to myself to never again be lazy or not do something because I just don't want to get up or because I don't feel like doing it. Those 2 months showed me the real value of my legs and my health, so now, every time I feel like doing something, getting something or going somewhere, I never let my laziness get in the way. It's like those people who never stop doing something or saying NO, something called the YES theory, which I don't really agree with but I can understand why some people make it their life philosophy.

Right now I'm waiting for a good friend to finish her first physiotherapy Session. She had a knee surgery 6 weeks ago and after a month and a half of not being able to walk, stand or even get off the bed, she is now ready to start walking little by little with the help of her crotches.

It's funny how different people have very different reactions when facing similar situations. For me, it was hard to face a broken ancle and not being able to walk but I tried to be as independent as possible - also because I didn't have anyone to take care of me 24/7 - and once I was able to walk, I rushed the process. My friend is facing dependence in a different way, she hates it but she had to accept it, mostly because her knee was pretty much destroyed, so her only option was accepting being dependent of others and asking for help.

I'm waiting for her to come out and I started wondering what would I do today if I had to spend weeks without getting off the bed. To be honest, I think it wouldn't be much of a big deal, perhaps what I would regret the most would be spending money in hospital bills and physio sessions.

Who knows, right now I stopped running every evening because my right knee joints hurt like hell after high impact running for more than 3 clicks. I have to visit the doctor soon, but I don't really want to find out if I need surgery because I don't really have the money and I'm not ready to stop running forever, but odds say, if I go check my knees, the doctor will tell me I can't run anymore.

It's schrodinger's knee, and right now I'm fine with it.

Seems like my friend is coming out, I already spent 45 minutes between writing here and wasting time watching crypto Twitter memes.

IMG_20210408_155900435_HDR.jpg

See you later hivemigos (Hive+amigos, get it?)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency