Entry for STEMGeek's First Hackathon: hiveonboard.com

After a week of sleepless nights, I'am ready to submit my work on hiveonboard.com as an entry for STEMGeek's First Hackathon.

Since I already covered a lot about this project in @hiveonboard blog, I'll stick on Marky's guidelines for Hackathon entries. So here we go!

image.png

Description of Project and the problem it solves

Hiveonboard.com is designed as an entry point for people who are interested in HIVE and don't even know how to use this platform. The main scope was to make the process of creating an account as easy as possible without the barrier of a paywall.

The scope on this project is divided in three main categories:

  • Learn
    This section will filled with a lot of high quality content when it comes to learn about HIVE. Why is HIVE so awesome? Why should people invest in HIVE? Ho does HIVE work? All those questions should be answered in a really user-friendly way. Adding content to this section was put on the road-map but didn't make into this entry because I've deceided to focus my work on account creation.

  • Create Account
    This is the most important use-case is fully covered in many aspects in @hiveonboard blog

  • Explore
    This section currently holds information about widly used dApps and will be extended with other HIVE services on a later date. Like the "Learn" section it wasn't the main focus right now.

The problem which the project is trying to solve is to provide the HIVE system with a relieable, scalable and easy to use account registration service which can be used by individuals or other HIVE dApps.

From my point of view, it's important for HIVE right now, that DEVs could focus on the value they create with their dApp and not reinventing the wheel when it comes to account creation.

Since I don't really want to repeat all that stuff that was already written, I hope it's pretty much OK, when I just drop the links to posts which will go in depth of the project and what it has achieved so far.

  1. Introducing hiveonboard.com - free HIVE account creation service
  2. Major Updates, SMS Verification and more
  3. Solving the Scalability Issue for Account Creation - no more HP delegations required

Link to GitHub Repository
Link to live project

Right now there is a almost never ending list of feature requests and further improvements to be made.
I have just forced myself stop coding for now and write this post for getting this entry into the chain before hitting the deadline.

Just Do It

I really want to thank @themarkymark and the staff behind the STEMGeek's Hackathon for motivating me to start a HIVE contribution. After a week of spare-time-coding and a lot sleep deprivation I realize that not the price pool is the most rewarding aspect of this event. There were a lot of more valuable aspects for me. It already was such great experience working with the community and meeting so many talented and inspiring persons, which I heard a lot of before, but never got involved with them before. This has changed!

I'am happy to tell you right now a lot of teaming up is happening and there are exciting things on the road!

Since the blog on @hiveonboard already received a tremendous amount of post rewards, this one will decline rewards. Please consider voting for all of those other great projects entering the Hackathon.

Over and out for today!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency