Hive Streamer - It Has Begun!

ilyapavlovOqtafYT5kTwunsplash.jpg
Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Following the announcement of a STEM hackathon and a very strong recommendation from @r0nd0n. I have decided to enter the competition.

As a streamer myself I found it a task to find a good (and free) way to stream on the HIVE based live streaming services, namely Vimm and 3Speak

I myself did not want to pay a price to perform this simple task so I endeavoured for a self-hosted solution using Nginx with the RTMP module. This was a simple enough task for myself as a developer of 8 years with an abundance of knowledge in the field. For many, it would be a very confusing and scary task to perform.

Enter "Hive Streamer"

I have decided to create a simple Docker image that will make it easy enough for most people with an intermediate knowledge of technology to spin up an RTMP server that allows them to multi-stream to the HIVE live streaming services.

What will this involve

To make this work, there will be two aspects.

Dashboard

The dashboard will provide a nice user friendly interface for entering the users stream keys.

This I have already started and the code can be viewed on GitHub.

Screenshot6.png

Backend

The second part is where the magic will happen. The backend will be responsible for receiving the video stream and then pushing that stream to each of the services.

This will be done via a Nginx service with the RTMP module, it will then pass the stream into a separate ffmpeg instance for each service.

Finally

Lastly, I will wrap both of these into a single docker image which will allow users to run a single command to get this up and running. Once they have it running they simply navigate to the web interface to set their stream keys and get their new stream URL & Key. It will be that easy!

You can keep an eye on the project here: https://github.com/hive-streamer

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency