If you played with lawndarts as a kid - it's your turn - GenXer's get the vaccine

Finally my age cohort has come around for the vaccine in my area. But it's not all Guns and roses...

lawndarts.JPG

OK, I've been waiting patiently for my turn to get the vaccine. Getting jealous of friends and family in the US receiving it and the way that it was rolling out here seemed a bit wishy-washy. I'm in and out of "hot-zones" for work, but still don't qualify. So when they finally announced my cohort (40-55) I breathed a sigh of relief.

We (Generation X) were to be getting the Astrazeneca version. I was like, meh. But it was something. My wife is deemed an essential worker so she is already booked. It's just me.

I stayed up till midnight to be sure to get online as soon as I could book. Then the gotchya hold on... as I started to book it didn't look like we were actually getting appointments, it ended up just being a huge waitlist. None of the pharmacies actually had available slots or vaccines. I registered with 4 different pharmacies... all waitlists. Potential appointments several weeks to several months. We'll contact you, they all said. Well, that ain't good.

GenX Responds

Needless to say, I'm a proud GenXer and had that typical latchkey upbringing with both parents working I usually ended up fending for my sister and me until they got home. So two things came out of this; the way Generation X responded on Twitter was, to say the least, hilarious. And being self-helpers the rise and use of a tool called Vaccine Hunters Canada has helped get thousands of doses to the arms of my cohort. Those doses would have otherwise gone to waste or sat idle as many lots are approaching the expiry.

Friday morning Vaccine Hunters Canada Tweeted out that a pharmacy had 350 doses available for walkins. I was out the door and into the line by 8 am. Whew. What a relief first dose on board! In talking with the pharmacist he said he was overwhelmed and extremely happy with the response. He's had doses just sitting at his pharmacy, 10 shots the day before! He and his staff were pretty jazzed and he said that he now understands the power of social media.

87fd0fa1-ba81-4a2c-9d28-24b3b876f5e9.png

Where am I going with all the Generation X stuff...

GenXZeneca Tag Explodes

So, it seems that many of us that had that up bringing of doing things for ourselves and getting shit done did just that. Using social media, word of mouth we're getting the 40-55's vaccinated.

Check out some of the responses and posts...you might be a GenXer if... mine of course.

There is a whole ton more, just as hilarious... you might have had to live through some of these to get the jokes but I was ROFLMAO. I know it's a serious topic but we need a release and Vaccine Hunters Canada is saving lives and getting shit done. Generation X is responding to the fight. I'm proud of my generation - Keep fighting the fight and let's squash this disease!

allthebest-gotmyshot.png

An odd side effect, my 5G service seems to be better. LOL! Get your shot!

Resources:

Vaccine Hunters Canada Webisite or Vaccine Hunters Canada Twitter
Twitter GenXZeneca Tag Link

Lawndarts image - wiki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency